D Day


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hai Phong
July 11th 2012
Published: July 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

July 11 2012







Somehow I always end up on the back of someone’s motor bike, holding on for dear life and enjoying every second of it. But lets back up for a minute…







Upon arrival not only was I greeted by my contact from school but also the stifling humidity. As soon as we left the airport I was instantly at ease with Vietnam. It’s something about tropical weather and surroundings that just make life more peaceful. The green, lush land I saw rush past my window was so tranquil posing a juxtaposition to the conditions of the roads. Not to say the roads were in bad conditions but it’s definitely a jungle navigating them. Constant, blaring horns, cars, trucks and motor bikes driving which ever way they want, and the most annoying thing; no one seems to know how to drive smoothly. It can be compared to how first time drivers are depicted in tv and movies. The stop go, stop go. Every 5 seconds it’s either give it some gas or hitting the breaks! Nauseating is what it is. After surviving 3 hours of this, we finally came to a stop in front of a 5 story, orange building which I learn is my new home.







First thought: “Please let there be another kitchen!” The garage and kitchen (if you can call it that) occupy the same space. And no there isn’t another kitchen… Oh Vietnam, I know there’s more in store for me. The first floor up is the living room and deck which is a very decent size. After seeing the whole house, all the rooms are rather large! Sweet! =] now the next level is my room and Rich’s room. Fully equipped with own bathroom, AC, rock hard, queen size beds and orange and glittery walls. Next level the same, roommates Tom and Cormac. Then the top is roof level with a sick deck, 2 washers and a hammock. Overall, definitely a different style of housing but not too bad. It may seem like I’m complaining but living abroad isn’t supposed to be perfect and I embrace the ghetto-ness. Also just found out our house is so odd because it is an old karaoke building! Anyways its situated in this little market area and tons of little pathways and roads leading to an assortment of colors, smells and food, in particular dog. I guess the street we live on is known for its dog specialties…







Now to the motor bike. Almost everyone here bought a motor bike to get around because the city is pretty big. I was starving so we hoped on the bikes, weaved in and out of cars and ended up slightly colliding with another bike on the highway (nothing happened, we just rubbed shoulders) and then a few minutes later the wind blows the helmet off my freaking head and careening into the traffic behind us!! I don’t remember the name of the food but we ended up at this street vender. There were mini tables and mini chairs (seriously for like preschoolers) set up on the side walk next to a grill thingy. There is just one thing served. We sat down and we were served a salad, lots of noodles, some kind of bbq pork in sauce and egg rolls. All for about $2 each. As I sat there eating, I was taking in my surroundings and trying to appreciate how lucky I am to be able to experience this. On the way back, wind in my hair, full belly, sun lowering, surrounded by new sights… it makes you feel grateful for everything.



PS- pictures to come!

Advertisement



14th July 2012

Hallo
Love the blog and following your adventures. Be Safe Hugh, Funmi, and Liam

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb