Sapa Rice Terraces


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northwest » Lao Cai » Sapa
June 8th 2009
Published: June 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So much of the area surrounding Sapa is covered with rice terraces that look like works of art. Its amazing to bike around this landscape and I was perpetually blown away. Cruising along the mountain roads, you can look down on little villages of the Hmong, Red Dao and Tay people. I detoured to several of them and it was like stepping back in time. In one Dao village I saw a little boy sleeping on the back of a water buffalo.


I rode up to the Silver Waterall and through the highest mountain pass in Vietnam. Riding through the pass, the freezing wind blows whips strong and the mist was so dense I couldn't see 10ft. in front of me. That is a frightening and amazing experience; its like being on another planet.


This is the most beautiful place I have ever seen.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb