Hanoi is trying to kill me


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northeast
June 20th 2010
Published: June 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

HanoiHanoiHanoi

Really-they were trying to kill me. Check out the rest of the pictures.
'tis true. Hanoi is trying to kill me. We thought the traffic in Saigon was the worst we had seen but Hanoi wins top prize. What Hanoi has that Saigon doesn't is young males on motorbikes that race through alleys, streets, sidewalks, and crowds. On our walk home last night we were really taking care of each other. I told Steven this morning I am not going down past the 2nd floor-that way they can't get me since they can't climb stairs. Well, at least I haven't seen them try to climb any stairs. But we are going to venture out again today-I have my Ganesh, The Remover of Obstacles in my backpack. I am hoping her powers extend to "Keeper of My Bottom from Bad Motorbikes from Behind".

We are staying in the Old Quarter-it sits between the Red River and the Lake. It is actually quite pretty but you can't look around when walking-you have to really watch for traffic-every second. We found the sister pub to the one we liked in Saigon-Le Pub-so we will go there today. And a movie theater-I thought that would be a good way to escape the heat of the afternoon. Popcorn
Traffic laws? Where?Traffic laws? Where?Traffic laws? Where?

Makes you appreciate our traffic laws!
sounds pretty good too.

We missed The Fantastic Four +1 here in Hanoi, but we have extended an open invitation to them if they ever find themselves in Northern California. Such polite, intelligent, well-mannered-all at 20! I may adopt them. I already adopted the twins that run the hotel in Saigon.

I spent an hour last night with one of the hotel staff talking with him about cost of living Hanoi vs Sacramento. Describing our backyard was a difficult concept, and the fact that our first floor is used for storage. Our costs of electricty and gas is much cheaper than Hanoi. And he thinks I should sell my car and buy a motorbike to take to work-better in traffic. So I had to explain exactly how fast we go on the freeway at home and now he thinks I am reckless. When he asked if I had children I said no, we have two geckos, a tortoise, and a dog. He said that was all really good to eat and I could get all of that here in the city. Then he laughed. Kind of.

Our breakfast buffet consisted of dragon fruit, watermelon, pineapple, apple, corn,
Scooter ManiaScooter ManiaScooter Mania

Here are all the things you can do on a scooter: carry any piece of furniture, take all 4 of your kids to school, talk or text on your cell phone, pull out in traffic and NEVER LOOK behind you!
hot dogs, macaroons, toast, pho, spring rolls, cole slaw, tomatoes, and cucumbers. Something for everybody!

Lots of shopping here. We found an entire city block of just shoe stores. But not one pair in a size that fits Steven! They just stare at his feet when we walk by.

Off to explore more of Hanoi.

Suzie


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Mmmm...meat for dinner!Mmmm...meat for dinner!
Mmmm...meat for dinner!

Meat for sale on the sidewalk.
Specialty StoreSpecialty Store
Specialty Store

This meat stand specialized in the innards of animals. The tubs had intestines with a hose running to clean them out. YUM!
No room on the road?No room on the road?
No room on the road?

Ride on the sidewalk!


Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb