China and Beyond XI - Nanning to Hanoi - Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northeast
August 6th 2009
Published: August 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

China to Vietnam By Bus - Unique FormationsChina to Vietnam By Bus - Unique FormationsChina to Vietnam By Bus - Unique Formations

Many forest covered formations dotted the landscape along the highway to Pingxiang and the Vietnam border.
The morning of July 8th was a little sad and somewhat mixed with apprehension. I was led to believe that Vietnam was a relatively lawless place where I would wear my daypack on my chest and hug it closely...then run for the hotel as the sunset. I was soothed by the comfort of the bus ride from Nanning to the border at Pingxiang and some great conversation with a Laotian ex-pat and his wife from Belgium. The scenery was beautiful and soft on the eyes with many forested towers and large ponds which I assumed are fish farms. The scene at the border was subdued and business-like and the whole process was smooth and easy. I traded in some dollars for Vietnamese dong so I would have pocket money for Hanoi...and in doing so, I became a ' millionaire ' which is a good feeling in most currencies but I soon discovered the true meaning of that total. The procedure in Customs was to hand in my departure card from China and have my luggage x-rayed. Once my papers were cleared, I walked with my large pack to the Vietnamese side where my luggage was again x-rayed and I filled out
China to Vietnam By Bus - Village Nestled Into Base of HillsChina to Vietnam By Bus - Village Nestled Into Base of HillsChina to Vietnam By Bus - Village Nestled Into Base of Hills

Quaint villages were a common sight at the base of the peaks. It would have been interesting to visit them.
quite a few applications ( I already had my visa ) and health declarations in a non-air-conditioned room...then a short walk to an air-conditioned bus ( not quite as nice as the Chinese side but comfortable and roomy, all the same ). Again, the countryside was beautiful...the ride, peaceful and restful. I met two students at the border ( one a Chinese National and the other a Vietnamese girl ) and when we weren't sleeping, we would chat in English. As we approached Hanoi, the roads became busy with motorbikes and more cluttered with debris...but nothing I had to feel uncomfortable with. The bus abruptly dropped us in a strange location and a woman with the bus company offered us advice to our locations which basically amounted to ... " good luck ". I actually scooped the last taxi waiting. A rather small and unassuming car that looked like my pack would fill the entire backseat. The driver was not so keen to go to the Hang Bé area of Hanoi, where my hotel was and charged me extra to make the trip. I soon realized why. It is the heart of Hanoi...two minutes walk to the Hoan Kiem...the scenic,
On the Vietnam Side of the BorderOn the Vietnam Side of the BorderOn the Vietnam Side of the Border

Beautiful setting along the highway to Hanoi
if small lake with two temples on small islands. The amount of motorbikes was crazy...I was told there are six million people in Hanoi and four million motorbikes...and they ALL seemed to be passing through the area. The driver passed my address and stopped, pointed behind us and basically said the same thing as the woman from the bus company ... " good luck ". I walked back to the address and found ' the Rising Dragon ' which I had booked online. The lobby was clean and had colourful photos of areas like Ha Long Bay and SaPa. I checked in without having to pay upfront and my bag was carried for me up to the fourth floor. The room was small but clean and it was a very welcome sight as I was extremely tired from a very long day. I didn't venture far at first and sought out my dinner at the Green Mango Restaurant which I pulled off the internet also. It is a very impressive restaurant with first class service and excellent food...the check matched in every way but I considered it my splurge and well deserved. After a very healthy Thai-style meal, I headed
Near to Hanoi - More Traffic on the Highways and RiversNear to Hanoi - More Traffic on the Highways and RiversNear to Hanoi - More Traffic on the Highways and Rivers

Industry and trade pick up as you near Hanoi.
to the Hoan Kiem. I found crossing the street extremely intimidating and usually shadowed a local as they seemed to know where the spaces in between the traffic was. Reaching the lake, I walked and enjoyed the cooler air and slight breeze created by the water with all the locals and tourists that filled the park-like strip around the edges. I walked to one end and back then headed to my hotel and after a few wrong turns and backtracks, made my way to my temporary home. I had survived my first night in the city...the next morning would be new...daylight in Hanoi.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb