2nd and 3rd days in Halong Bay


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northeast » Quang Ninh » Halong Bay
August 26th 2009
Published: August 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Signing back in. Man, I am trying to write fast to catch up with everything. I leave in a few hours on an overnight train to the China border for a 7 day motorcycle tour of NW vietnam on a Minsk. I will not have internet access for that time. These blogs take a bunch of time. I have much more respect for all the other people who have posted theirs now!

On the morning of the 2nd day in Halong bay I got up at 4:50 am to watch the sunrise. I was the only person up for almot 1.5 hours. Was so nice. I jumped in the water for a swim while the sun was rising. Was so moving to be floating in the bay in the dark and watch the sky get brighter and brighter as the sun rose. Such warm water. Like a bathtub.

Definitly made me think of the creator as the bible says at Romans 1:20 "for his invisible qualities are clearly seen from the world's creation onward, because they are perceived by the things made, even his eternal power and Godship, so that they are inexcusable." To see all this beauty is to see God.

We then had breakfast and tranfered to another boat which took us along the bay to an island where we had a 2 mile bike ride to an authentic village. My bike was a disastor of course and it was definitly pleasant to be peddling in the steam room but dang, what an amazing place. Was so nice to see the people in how they actually lived.

We had lunch at an island called Monkey Island. I agree with Sara, when she commented on how dissappointed she was to find out that there are no more monkeys on Monkey Island. Its a little resort now with bungalows that some in our group stayed at.

We ended the day by geting taken to our hotel on Cat ba Island. Was a very nice hotel and had a great view of the village out in the bay. On of the highlights of our trip though was Dave, Sara and I rented scooters for 1.5 hours and took off through town and along the coast for a ways. Even though it was a very small town, and not a lot of traffic it was crazy. During that ride, dogs, puppies, kittens, babies all ran out into the road in front of us! I am totally serious. Dave and Sara will back me up on that. Also, was very crazy trying to make turns at intersections as you have to go against traffic. Its nuts moving into the path of other vehicles comeing straight at you. Its almost completly opposite from what we do in the western world on the roads.

We all had dinner and went for drinks and agreed that the scooters where some of the most fun we had had. Definitly do it if you are there. We did agree though that if we all had it to do over that we would have gone for the 2 nights in the bay on the boat instead of 1 night on boat and 1 night on island. Too many transfers between boats and shuttles. Would have been great to just been in one spot for the whole 3 days.

The next day was mainly spent just coming back. Was such a sad thing to see the bay get further behind us. Coming back to Hanoi is such a contrast to being out in nature.

We ended the night by going to an intersection in the old quarter that is famous for a nice vietnamese beer thats considered to be the cheapest around. Its got 3 establishments on each of the 3 corners and its packed with tourists from all over the world drinking 10 cent beers. Its easy to buy everyone a round at this place.

Unfortunatly, I am starting to get a sore throat. Yes, I know. Swine flu. I dont have a fever though. And, I found out if you go to the Dr here with any of the symptoms of flu, the govt will put you in quarintine. So, I went and purchased some vitamin C and going to wait this one out. I really hope it gets better though as I have to hit the overnight train towards Sapa. I have arranged to have a guide meet me there and we are going to drive Minsk motorcycles for 7 days into the back country of rural NW Vietnam. There will be no tourists there and I am pretty sure no internet access for the next week.

On a side note. Some misconseptions about Vietnam have been changed. I pictured having a hard time getting clean water. Thats not the case. Bottled water is everywhere and its cheap. I also had the conception that the Vietnamese would be trying to constantly steal my stuff and luggage. I brought like 5 locks. I even purchased a pac safe. So not true. While there are many people trying to sell us things the Vietnamese have been so nice and honest. 2 huege examples.

Yesterday, on Cat Ba Island, Dave left 200,000Dong in cash in the menu at the restaurant. The waitress came out about .5 hours later and asked Dave if the cash was his. That was so honest. Then today, I had a huge scare. I withrew cash from an ATM last night but did not realize till today that I had left the card there. When I ran back in terror because that is my only cash card thinking about how I would get cash for the rest of the trip, I was met at the ATM by the front desk clerk of the hotel where the atm was at and he had my card! I was so happy.

So far, even though they are poor and struggle, the Vietnamese people are happy, honest and have such a hardworking and entreprenueral spirit. They are also, such a beautiful people. I have not seen one overweight or obese vietnamese yet. Its been a great experience having some of my conceptions changed.

Well. I have to start packing for this trip. I am a bit nervous about the whole thing. No hotels or restaurants. Going to be staying in villages and back country where I will be the only white person. If I dont start blogging in a week remember to contact Sun at Serenity Hotel. He knows where I am going. Thats for you Mom cause I dont even know where I am going! lol

I am very sad that I will be saying goodbye to Dave and Sara though. They have become like old friends that I feel like I have known forever.

Signing off for now. Maybe back in 7 days.

Dave


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb