Boat trip in Halong Bay


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northeast » Quang Ninh » Halong Bay
April 18th 2009
Published: April 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Dear reader,

I never quite finished the story of my brother and I going to Southeast Asia in February 2007. My latest blog entry is from Hanoi (Rendezvous in Hanoi), after which we went to Halong Bay, a UNESCO world heritage site featuring thousands of limestone karsts and isles in various sizes and shapes (see Wikipedia for information). We booked an all included trip, which included a two-hour bus ride from Hanoi to the sea, a boat trip around the bay and some island visits, and the bus return.

Although the weather was not great due to the time of year, we still enjoyed diving off the boat side and also a bit of kayaking between the fascinating monolithic rocks that rise out of the water everywhere in Halong Bay.

Many of the islands in Halong Bay contain enormous caves. Hopping off the boat, we went inside the largest one, namely Hang Đầu Gỗ (Wooden stakes Cave, Grotte des Merveilles). We walked through a number of huge chambers with lots of stalactites and stalagmites. On the outside, there was a great lookout point over neighbouring islands and the bay.

I would highly recommend a visit to this spectacular bay, however, it is better to go a different time of year to enjoy some sunshine and nice temperatures. There are many activities to explore, including kayaking, snorkling, diving, the beaches, and the caves, among many others.

Below are some of the many photos we took. I am happy that I finally got around to posting them. It is funny how long a PhD degree can take to complete and how much time it can absorb!





Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Piece of electric wirePiece of electric wire
Piece of electric wire

We had the unfortunate experience of finding this piece of electric wire in our food during dinner on board the boat.
Island with caveIsland with cave
Island with cave

The cave entrance can be seen in the middle right.
CatfightCatfight
Catfight

I always enjoy watching my brother fight with girls... like a girl! Notice the way he crosses his legs ;)


21st April 2009

Vietnam
Great stuff Robin. I was in Vietnam in 2008-2009 myself. Mostly around Hanoi, but I did make it out to Halong Bay. Fantastic. I hope you enjoyed Vietnam as much as I did. Just crossing the street in Hanoi was an adventure. :) victor.

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0762s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb