Halong Bay


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northeast » Quang Ninh » Halong Bay
April 25th 2007
Published: April 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Halong Bay....oo-ar me harties!!



I eventually escaped Hanoi for 3 days on a tour of Halong Bay. Halong Bay is a collection of thousands of small islands in North Vietnam...its an amazing place, felt like I was on a film set for Pirates of the Carribean!

First day was quite hazy but I think it just added to the whole mysteriousness of the place. We visited Surprise Cave which was well just a cave....I think they hire someone to look through the cave and come up with new animals you can seein the rocks. I think we saw an elephant, turtle, father Christmas, Buddha, a monkey, a man and woman blah blah blah...the list is endless. Quite funny really. Good fun!

First night we stayed on a boat which was cool. The boats are called Junks, see the piccies...Ours was quite posh and we had a slap up meal in the evening, best meal I have had since I left the UK I reckon.

Second day we sailed further around the bay to an island called Cat Ba where we saw more caves,this one was called the Heavenly Dragon cave. Only animal we saw in here was a dolphin. We stayed the night in Cat Ba Island and we all went out for another slap up meal....really good trip in all, met some good people and had a right laugh. Sadly now I am back in hell hole Hanoi...

My camera was stolen in Bali so have lost all the pictures of Vietnam ;-(...will update once my friend Lulu sends me hers.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb