Hello and Good-bye Hue


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » North Central Coast » Thua Thien - Huế » Hué
March 15th 2009
Published: March 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

En route to HueEn route to HueEn route to Hue

Along a windy road through Vietnamese mountains.
Day 15
A glorious sleep at my favourite hotel/guest house thus far. Or maybe it was just because so much was happening in Hoi An. Regardless, I felt bright-eyed and bushy-tailed for the upcoming 3-hour ride through Vietnamese mountains to get to Hue (pronounced Whey). Hue is in central Vietnam and was the capital until 1945.
Along the way we stopped on the top of the mountains for a stretch, toilets, and pictures. It was freezing up there and slightly misty. See the photos.
The weather was still cold when we arrived in Hue so I wore my warmest clothes - a long-sleeved tee shirt and my new thai fisherman pants. Little did I know this wardrobe would need to be repeated for the next two days. We grabbed some lunch and broke off into smaller groups. I went with Aimee, Michelle, Tina and Lily to check out the citadel and imperial city. This looked extremely old so we were shocked to learn construction had begun in 1805. Much of it was destroyed during the war though as Hue was a major battleground during the Tet Offensive.
For dinner, the whole group ventured to a local establishment, apparently run by a
Foggy viewFoggy viewFoggy view

It was super cold up here and I was only wearing my newly tailor-made shirt. I only have one warm shirt and I was too lazy to get it for this bathroom break.
hearing-impaired family. It may have been the longest we ever waited for food but remarkably, the food at each of our three tables came out together - a first since arriving in SE Asia. I sat on the balcony and enjoyed watching people cycling by or riding by on motorbikes. Alot of the riders were driving with one hand in their pocket to keep slightly warm.

Day 16
As there wasn't really much else I was wanting to see in Hue and because the weather was still overcast and cold, I stuck around the hotel and had a morning to myself. I did cave at lunch time though and went with Ninna and Claire to KFC for lunch. This was my first real really western food. It was amazing though! Thank you Col Saunders. We also found a supermarket and stocked up on cheap food as we were boarding another sleeper train but this time at 3pm so we'd need to be eating. This night train was another step down from the last one. Niina, Tuomas and I opted to venture through the whole train to make our way to the bar car at the very back. We got
Children playingChildren playingChildren playing

Some football happening with the flag of Vietnam over top the children.
lots of stares from the locals as we walked though the car that only had seats. It was great to see some of the Vietnamese countryside on this ride. I'm very glad I have no more sleeper trains.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Citadel in HueCitadel in Hue
Citadel in Hue

We are on our way to the Forbidden Purple City. A city within a city within a city that was just for the Emperor and his ladies.
A cold dinnerA cold dinner
A cold dinner

Lily (our Vietnamese-speaking Canadian), Aimee (a fellow Torontonian), Tina and I sitting on a cold balcony for a slow dinner. Good thing we didn't have anywhere to really be.
Night trainNight train
Night train

Having a drink in the bar car with Niina and Tuomas (from Finland)
Niina & Tuomas in the bar carNiina & Tuomas in the bar car
Niina & Tuomas in the bar car

A cute and very fun couple who I have enjoyed spending time with since Day 1


Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0857s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb