Hue


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » North Central Coast » Thua Thien - Huế » Hué
April 13th 2008
Published: April 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

HueHueHue

Part of the Tomb
Hi we are in Hue, and staying at a beautiful hotel called the Saigon Morin, just near the main bridge. It is over 100 years old but very stately. Yesterday in the afternoon we visited the Huge Tomb of one of the kings it was very beautiful inside with lots of mosaics made out of tiles, plates and bottles, It was ever so hot and there were lots of stairs to climb, but it was worth it. At night we went out for a lovely dinner at a very nice restraunt. Today we went to the Citadel which covered a large amount of acres of land, and consisted of a huge wall and some lovely buildings, a lot of the buildings were destroyed when they were bombed for 5 hours during the Vietnam War, what was left were fantastic. then we visited a Pagoda and went for a cruise on the Perfume River for 1+1/2 hours which was lovely, and a bit cooler being on the water, then back to hotel for a swim!!! It was a very hot morning. This afternoon was at our leasure, after my swim I went for a walk around town and was followed by a
HueHueHue

Part of our Dinner last night
Cyclo driver until I gave in and went for a ride to the market he insisted on waiting for me and we negotiated a price of 50,000 dong, about$3.50 AUD. It was a very tight market, not much room to move around with very narrow isles I hung on to my bag very tightly as I was not too sure of myself in such tight spaces and soooo many people. I only bought a top for myself after a women took me upstairs to her shop which was just a stall amongst many she followed me around for about 15mins until I went with her to her shop she wanted 40,000 dong for the top and I ended up paying 160,000 dong about $11 AUD as it was similar to the one I had on thay I paid 160,000 for so I would not pay any more to her. My Cyclo driver was waiting for me and wanted to take me to other shops but I said noooooo I just wanted to get back to the hotel, he tried to tell me that the money I was giving me was not enough and did not have enough naughts but I
HueHueHue

the Citadel
knew what I was about and was not fooled by him, when we got back he wanted more but I would not give him any more.
Tonight we went to the Royal Restraunt just around the corner from our Hotel we all had to dress in costume with Dick and Peg the King and Queen, it was great fun and we had a lovely meal and walked back to our hotel.
Tomorrow morning we leave the Hotel at 10.15am for the Airport and our flight to Hanoi.
Pat



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

HueHue
Hue

inside the Tomb
HueHue
Hue

Lady trying to sell Des a dressing gown on the boat
HueHue
Hue

Dinner at the Royal Restraunt
HueHue
Hue

Dinner at the Royal Restraunt
HueHue
Hue

Some of our Group at the Royal Restraunt


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb