Fish Food And Fried Snake: Why I Don't Like Tours


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta
June 16th 2006
Published: June 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm always slightly dubious about tours. Short, forced and poorly chosen visits, cramped busses and fellow visitors who discuss the relative merits of various washing powder brands. I've seen it all. The good, the bad, and the hideously ugly. Actually today I'm lucky - the people are great. But the tours shit.

We start the day ina small boat, and visit two sights (if you can call them that). A fish farm, and a weavers. The formers only interesting points are that its floating, and it has a huge vat of steaming fishfood on it. The latter is interesting if you've never seen manual weaving before. But I have. After such excitement we got a bus to Can Tho, stopping at a riveting incence factory... aaaaahhhhh!!!!

When we arrived at Can Tho, our destination, we went for lunch. I ended up munching on fried snake, served with a glass of snake wine (which is just wine with a snake soaked in it!). Snake is actually delicious to eat, and I thoroughly recommend it to anyone who has the chance to try it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



19th June 2006

stop
I like snakes
21st June 2006

Tasty Snakes
To me, snakes just taste like Dog (or chicken), I can't taste the difference. Knowing what you are eating, albeit after the fact, is a thrill.

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 15; qc: 87; dbt: 0.104s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb