Vietnam - Mekong Delta (last day - pt 1)


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta
January 18th 2008
Published: January 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have to admit that I'm falling behind in my writing - not only on this blog but in my journal. I am so busy and there is very little "me" time on this trip to write (well that's not entirely true - I do get massages - but that may be ending soon (will explain later)). Our last day in Vietnam was great and I'm sorry to be leaving this county. I know I've said it before, but the landscape, food is amazing and the people are so warm and friendly. Our guide Tung has arranged for rikshaws to take us to dinner - a very local place where beef is their speciality. I can't believe it ... even when I'M NOT peddling, I'm last. Maybe if I give the guy donut he would have gone faster. So dinner is a cook your own type of place. So much fun but we smelled of smoke. The table behind us was filled with local guys that have gotten stinking drunk on rice wine. One has passed out in his chair (I have a picture) and now they are trying to get us to buy them drinks. Tung tells me not to look at them as they think I'm pretty and will be encouraging them. Great. Our table decides to finish a bottle of rice wine - yuck. I can't stand that stuff. Margaret is drinking it like it's tequilla - with salt and lime. Maybe that would help. TeeTee (with the help of Tiger Beer and rice wine) thinks it's a good idea if we have a rikshaw race back to our hotel. It's a made rush to try and pick the best peddler ... again ... my guy sucks. I'm third. Tara got my first guy so she was last. It was great to laugh that hard and I'm sure all the locals thought we were nuts. Robbie actually tried to help his guy peddle and they got into an accident.

Well as luck would have it, my time on the internet is up. I think it's easier getting world series tickets than it is getting internet access/time here in Cambodia / Vietnam. I'll update this later....and it gets better - I actually had a melt down this morning.

Caio

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb