Beach Time


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta » Kien Giang » Phu Quoc Island
January 24th 2005
Published: January 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey, me again. Got some really fast internet here on Phu Quoc - surprising since it is a small island, maybe less computers to compete with bandwith.

Got to Phu Quoc yesterday. Staying at a fancy resort (Saigon Phu-Quoc), which is quite nice but we could have gotten way cheaper. Oh well, we can't be bothered with the touts anymore choosing a place. It is so different than Mexico because it is so quiet, there are usually only 5-6 people around the pool at a time. The beach is nice, the water is ok, not like Phuket which is crystal clear, but it is okay (hope I don't sound spoiled...)

Ken and I are trying to find the positives to this country in general. Maybe we have just run into the wrong circumstances but we find the people here way different than in Thailand. Last night at dinner the waiter brought shrimp for Ken (after he repeated Ken's order of pho with cabbage and pork) and argued with him about the order. I said fine, I would eat that one but cancel my order (which was fish). I said NO KING FISH and he said "yeah, yeah, no fish" lots of times. He was a bit clueless. Of course he brings the fish, we send it back then he tries to put it on the bill! Ken talked with the manager who did absolutely nothing, didn't even apologize. When we disputed the bill with the cashier the waiter got very agitated and was yelling and arguing....!!! Crazy. Signed up for some SCUBA and foudn out this is pretty normal for that place. So we won't be eating there again. The other staff has been wonderful, though.

Forgot to tell you about the bus ride from Hue to Hoi An. Took 5 and 1/2 hrs to get 130kms. This is because they stop at every bleeding place on the way in the hopes that you will buy something and they will get commission. Brutal. Then at one place I got TOTALLY hosed. Some kids wanted some coins for their collection. Somehow (which is unlike me) I got talked into showing them some bills (I had $10) then the mother came over with loonies and toonies to exchange for the bill but she only had 9.35. I gave her the bill (god knows why..? although she probably can't change the loonies and toonies here so she should be able to change the $10) then I got talked into giving a loonie to the one kid....what happened? Oh well, like Robert and Amanda say, they aren't going out to buy Mercedes with the money.
So after this transaction I felt cheated so I went up to the mother (who was selling junk) and I said, ok ok, you give me something worth 50c because I gave you the $10. I think she was a bit surprised! Ended up giving me this sampler sized tiger balm (worth about 2c) but in retrospect I should have bargained for more when she gav me the change for the $10.

Ken is doing his pool freshen up for scuba today, then we are going out diving tomorrow. Water temp around here is 28 degrees c - can't wait!!

Hope everyone is doing well, Nickers, sounds like you had a totally different experience in Hoi An - lucky you (although ate at two really amazing restaurants there and loved it in the evening)
Take care, stay warm!
Caroline (and Ken)


Advertisement



Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1116s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb