Superdong, the germans and beautiful sunsets


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta » Kien Giang » Phu Quoc Island
October 1st 2005
Published: October 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Getting to Phu Quoc was a challenge, I was transferred from one bus to another and another and really had no idea.... I had to once again trust that I would arrive at my destination as no one spoke english and I was the only tourist on the bus...I had a little guardian angel, a local man who sat next to me and attempted to communicate with gestures that I couldn't understand...one of them was sniffing my hand.....umm yeah I eventually figured it out and all he wanted was to help me.

After an exhausting bus ride I was dropped off near the port to get the boat to the island which was another experience to say the least, the "super Dong" which was the fast boat (umm not) wasn't so bad, finally I arrived on the island and really had no idea where I wanted to go, other than finding a place that fits my usual criteria of being low key and quiet. The ticket included a mini bus trip to the main centre Duong Dong, I decided to let the gods take me where ever they will.......fortunately the gods were kind and I arrived at a sort of mini resort called Mango Bay along Ong Long Beach, just perfect, clean, reasonably cheap and oozed peacefulness, the resort contained about 16 dirfferent types of huts, surrounded by national park, mango and palm trees and cows. The water was crystal clear and calm and each evening was blessed with a beautiful sunsets and a star filled sky.

The mini bus was filled with Germans, there was the up and coming high powered couple who were living in "London", the single "Eva" who couldn't stay still for a second and was missing her boyfriend terribly and clearly had "issues" and the sweet young couple Vanessa and Gordon, whom amused and bonded with the most.

My observations of my fellow travellers kept me occupied for so long, most of the time I found myself on a totally deserted beach all to myself, listening to music, thinking about lifes great mysteries, thinking about nothing and on the ocassion talking and thinking about business and development opportunities in Vietnam.....yes tis true

This was the perfect setting to chill and do the usual day dreaming, but as much as I would have loved to stay I decided to go check out Cambodia a week earlier.....I set off on another crazy journey with Vanessa and Gordon.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb