tues day 144


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta » Can Tho
June 17th 2015
Published: June 17th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Having set my alarm for 05.45 it was a pretty early start to the day. What makes it bearable though is watching the early morning river traffic and the sun beaming across the water and into my room. Having booked the bus to Can Tho for today and a short one hour boat tour to fit in beforehand. After a spot of breakfast a group of tourists arrived at the hotel, we all climbed on the boat and were on our way. The first stop was to a small fishing village on the river, we got off the boat and stepped into a woman's house which basically had 2 large holes in the floor with lots of fish in - primarily there to be fattened up before being sold on at the markets. It was interesting to have a look around a floating house with a bedroom off to the side, a pretty non existent kitchen and the lounge area which contained the fish. Around the house were of course the canoes with all the fishing nets, baskets etc. From here we headed down the river to a minority village. Walking into the muslim village across a couple of very rudimental bridges we were met by a few children asking for money and trying to sell - along with a few stalls - the usual tourist kitsch. The dress of course was different with the women covering up with the head scarves and the language spoken was mainly Malay. Having a little look around the village and being given a bit of a talk we walked to find the new mosque being built just up the road ( right next to the old mosque that isn't quite big enough.) On the walk back towards the boat I chatted with a young girl travelling on her own from Israel for 3 months. Past the children and onto the boat it was the end of the short tour - more enjoyable than I thought it would be. Dropped back at the hotel I sat down for 5 minutes before being met by the minibus to take me to Can Tho. 3 hours later and we had arrived - a much better road than the first one - things were looking up! Arriving in Can Tho was like arriving in central London, not really what I expected. However it was a pleasant change to be able to walk to find my hotel - rather than constantly relying on the usual tuk tuk/moto drivers to take me. Unpacking my stuff I headed out for a bit of an explore, firstly down to the river to find the statue of Ho chi Minh, after snapping a couple of pictures I headed onto find the museum of him. After having a look around but with nearly everything being in Vietnamese it was kinda lost on me! But they had some interesting pictures of him nonetheless. From here I walked to find a supermarket for a few provisions and onto the city's pagoda. All of these main attractions are of easy walking distance from one another so it was a nice few hours spent seeing these sights. Before heading back to the hotel for a bit of a rest I headed back down to the river, to be accosted by a couple of local women trying to sell me a river boat trip for tomorrow. Seeing another western couple seeming to be having a similar conversation with another group of women we met in the middle to well - meet - and chat about options! Doing a deal with the women and wisely so as it would be saving us between $8 - $12 each we all planned to meet in the morning at 05.30 - Ouch! To spend a day on the river. Feeling pretty weary I headed on back to my hotel for a bit of a lay down before then heading back out for dinner. Being recommended a local restaurant by the hotel staff I went in search. Finding it not too far away first impressions seemed fine although that quickly changed. I happened to be the only woman there in the middle of groups of men giving rather uncomfortable stares and learing ( for the best expression) over the scantily clad waitresses! With the place feeling like a truckers cafe the only difference being rat, snake and frog on the menu - neither of which I opted for - sticking with the chicken. If I wasn't so hungry I definitely wouldn't have stayed, feeling pretty uncomfortable I ate up probably giving myself indigestion! Paid up and headed straight out of there and straight down a dark unlit street - it felt as dodgy as it sounds! How did I find myself in these situations - oh yeah, it was recommended!! Not so bad if theres a few of you but on my own in a big city of a country I don't really know yet I was pleased to have made it back to my hotel. After a long day and an early start it was nice to be relaxing.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0804s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb