Mekong Delta Trip. Vietnam - Cambodia


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta » Can Tho
July 30th 2010
Published: August 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


The boys...The boys...The boys...

Aww I was very sad to leave them...
The Mekong Delta (Vietnamese: đồng bằng sông Cửu Long “Nine Dragon river delta”) is the region in southwestern Vietnam where the Mekong River approaches and empties into the sea through a network of distributaries. The Mekong delta region encompasses a large portion of southeastern Vietnam of 39,000 square kilometres (15,000 sq mi). The size of the area covered by water depends on the season.

So I booked on a 3 day trip up the Mekong Delta that would finish in Phomn Penh (Cambodia)...

I can't remember the exact itinery but online it says it was this:

DAY 1 : HOCHIMINH CITY - MYTHO - CAN THO
Travel to My Tho by coach. Cross Mekong river by motorized boat. Row- boat ride along small creeks to Mekong River estuary. Motorized boat cruise along natural creeks and quiet village in Ben Tre province.Visit orchards,bee - keeping farm,taste natural honey & honey wine,enjoy tropical fruit,traditional music,see round a distillery. See Coconut candy production process,taste candy & Coconut pulp. Proceed to Can Tho. Check in hotel. Dinner at restaurant. Overnight at hotel in Can Tho.


Went for a wander in the evening and just as I was heading home I ran
md2md2md2

'If you're lucky you might see some crocodiles'........
into some of the lads from the trip coming out of a bar. Ended up going for a drinkie with them and ending up in a Vietnamese nightclub - I was the only white girl, cue lots of giggling and pointing. Oh I felt so special. Am sooooooooo happy I bumped into the boys - they turned out to be such a good little gang to hang around with - complete gentlemen who stopped me falling in many rivers by holding my hand. Bless. Iyla and Slava are from Israel - both spoke good english and were a good giggle, Tom a ADORABLE 18 year old French lad travelling on his own. I just wanted to mother him. Adorable. And finally Bastien..sigh...a man so gorgeous, handsome, funny, cute, kind and silly I wanted to steal some DNA and go and make his babies*. Sigh.

DAY 2 : CAN THO - CHAU DOC
7h00 breakfast at hotel. 7h45 Take a boat trip 3 hours for sightseeing of the Cai Rang. Floating Market. Lunch in fruit garden. Drive to Chau Doc. Boat trip to visit the Floating houses - The Muslim village and then visit the Ba CHua Xu Temple. Dinner
Floating marketFloating marketFloating market

They tie one piece of each bit of produce to the large pole at the front so you can see what they sell...
and Overnight in Chau Doc.

A nice early start (whoop. Feel my joy)...Don't remember much about this day other than having to say goodbye to my lovely boys 😞 Hit the new hotel in the evening, face planted into the mattress and didn't surface til the next day.


Day 3 : Chaudoc - Phompenh
8h00 transfer to boat station and take 3-hour boat trip and arrive a to the Vinh Xuong border in Phnom Penh.


A verrrrrrrrrrrrrry long day on numerous boats..seriously I think we spent about 16 hours on about 4 different boats. I excelled myself and managed to get some sleep on a wooden slat above the engine. I amaze myself sometimes. Travelling along the Delta was amazing - seeing the people working the land, sooo many kids coming and waving at us..the people are just so happy and live such simple lives.

...my favorite bit had to be the car ferry. Seriously I LOVE the lack of health and safety in Vietnam. A 3 storey ferry and you get to go walk around the top with no railings etc..was a lovely end to the day - feet dangling off the side when
The glamour.....The glamour.....The glamour.....

Travelling in style...plastic chairs on the back of a truck...
it was nearly dusk....

And then we finally arrived at Cambodia. YAyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!




* can you actually do that?!!?!




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The boat..The boat..
The boat..

We spent MANY hours on this boat...


Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb