bridge building


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta » Can Tho
June 10th 2007
Published: June 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

June 10, 2007

I cannot believe it is June 10th or that is is Sunday.

Today we went onto the job site. We helped construct a foot bridge. But before I get into that. I peed in a shower today. let me explain. The bathroom facilities was a shower. Literally it had a shower head, concrete everything, a water bucket, a movable metal door, and a drain. I had to squat down close to the drain and pee. So gross because it splashes. Lee-Anne and I were like can we just dig a hole and do like a camping trip. But Thai was afraid that little boys would see us. So I had to use the village lady’s bathroom. I had to put the toilet paper.
So our project was to tie rebar. We did a lot of tying. Our second task was to place the concrete in the forms. We worked from 9am - 2:30pm with a lunch break at a neighbor’s house. I was not a fan of the Vietnamese female students today…well in that case I don’t like any of them. One of the girls put fish in my plate, so I could not eat the rest of my meal. They were just trying to be nice, I know. Then when we were ready to leave…
OH wait. We took a boat from our bus to the site. It was a nice boat ride. We were like 6 inches from water level. But it was really fun. So on the ride back to the bus, the Vietnamese girls decided to have a water fight in the Mekong delta water. Eww…no! Us Americans don’t play in Vietnamese water that people pee in, bath in, and wash in. its just nasty. So I gave my ‘you need to stop look.’ They continue. So I get up (keep in mind the ceiling to the boat is 3 inches from my head) and I motion the girl to trade spots with me. I figure if she wants to continue this child-like behavior she can move closer to her friend. I also moved after they got water in my eyes. And Mary, our director, just got back from the doctors with an eye infection from just touching her eyes in the reseach center. I’m not trying to go to the doctor on this trip. Lee-Anne said the girl looked unhappy…could not care less.
Today is Chris’s last day. She has to go back for work and presentations for VT. So since I skipped dinner tonight (along with Mary Wells and Shoko) we are missing out on the celebrating.
I’ve got to get off this all you can eat Vietnamese diet. I’m not used to eating out at all. And I eat really small meals. But here it is constant eating. I’m gaining weight, I can feel it. I went to the super market today. so cool by the way. I bought dried strawberries, seaweed, and Special K. I’m so exicted. I’m going to try and get back to normal in these last three weeks.
The work load is kicking in. We have papers due in the next two days. And just so much reading. Since we did the bridge today, some of us are so far behind. We have presentations tomorrow and a paper for some tomorrow and a paper for the others on Tuesday. Plus the readings. I’m feeling it even though, I don’t think this only class counts for me at all.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb