What a long strange trip it's been!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta » An Giang » Chau Doc
March 30th 2008
Published: March 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

golf cart/speed boat/bus/bus/plane/bus/canal boat/ferry/bus/ferry/bus................we're finally here!!!!!! We arrived in Chau Doc at 8 pm after a long hard day on the road. Along the way we ventured into the Mekong Delta. (See attached pics) As if the final six hour bus ride wasn't uncomfortable enough, the poor living conditions we saw out the window made us all even more uncomfortable. I've heard stories and seen pictures of the living conditions in third world countries but seeing it up close is overwhelming. On the other hand, it really gave us all some perspective on what we value in life. When I saw people bathing in the river, I realized my twenty minute shower might be a bit excessive. And when I saw a multi-generational family crowded into a small open-air hut, it sure made me feel guilty about complaining of not having enough privacy.

The school dedication is just around the corner and everyone is very excited!
We will keep everyone posted! It's been a long hard day and I'm tired! Good night!

Carly


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Boat ride on MekongBoat ride on Mekong
Boat ride on Mekong

Young boy preparing coconuts for us to drink
Sunset on MekongSunset on Mekong
Sunset on Mekong

View from ferry window


30th March 2008

So glad you're safe!
Hey guys, I've been eagerly awaiting to see where you'll pop up next. I'm so happy you've made it to the school. What a great experience, for all you've been through. I love and miss you all.
31st March 2008

Hello!
We are back from vacation and got to see the photos and log ins as a class. Are you having fun? Did you like the coconut filled with the beef? What do you drink? What is the strangest thing you have experienced? Is Vietnam anything like America? What is the best thing you liked? Love, Grade 2 and Miss Durbin
31st March 2008

some answers
Fun? Yes Didn't try the cocnut filled with beef -- Helen did -- she liked the beef. I have tried coconut milk though -- didn't like the texture -- but it tasted good. I drink lots of water (it's very hot here). they make watermelon juice here -- it's OK. Guava juice is green -- I didn't like that very much. I've been drinking some Sprite here (more than my Mom lets me have at home) because we rarely eat candy or dessert -- so Pop is a real treat. Strangest thing -- I saw a blue-headed lizard at the beach and a tong lung (don't know how to spell) in our hotel. It is a little lizard who lives in buildings and eats insects. I saw some squid in the fish farm and oddly on our plates. Not speaking the language is hard and strange. Vietnam is much hotter, and it is definitely more crowded. Some kids like to play just like at home -- other kids have to work -- selling stuff or making stuff. The best thing i've liked is watching the men fish today -- it looked like fun, but hard, work. I'm having fun -- but I miss home. Will

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb