Travelling Through Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Central Highlands » Lam Dong » Da Lat
July 31st 2008
Published: August 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After leaving the luxury and warm hospitality of Saigon and Casa Del Hanh, we jumped on a bus to Dalat. Known as the city of eternal spring, I was very excited to go somewhere the temperature was below 23 degrees. Unfortunately it rained the whole time we were there and I was still struck down with the evil flu, so we dont have an awful lot to say about the place I'm afraid.

I did venture out one day to go to the crazy house which I loved. Its a guest house and gallery/museum thing which looks like something out of a fairy tale or an Alton Towers ride. The rooms are set in trees made out of concrete with giraffes and spider webs twisting round. The corridors climb up steep stairwells which sometimes come out as tiny little bridges but really high up and some doorways are tiny, Alice in Wonderland style. It was a lot of fun and would be a great place for a group of people to spend a night in as the rooms look cosy, but a bit spooky.

As it was forcast for more rain we decided to head on to Nha Trang to get some beach action. Not a lot to report as we just lounged on the beach all day. The water park was quite fun even though we were the only people in there over ten years old.

To get around Vietnam we have bought an open tour bus ticket which means we can go to all these places when we choose to with only one ticket price which is a great deal as it costs about twenty pounds. To get from Nha Trang to Hoi An we had an overnight bus which was one of the worst experiences of my life. You are allocated seats and we got a really raw deal. At the back of the bus are five seats in a row which are almost like beds but right next to each other, with another five above these. My seat was by the window with Steve next to me. To get to my seat I had to crawl in through Steves bed and once safely tucked in I had about a foot of space above me, none to either side and not enough room to put my legs out straight, so all in all it felt like being in a coffin, only sharing it with five other people. I amazed myself with my zen-like powers of not freaking out (this involved listening to Groove Armada and Air on my mp3 player and visualizing myself on a beach).

Anyway, we arrived in Hoi An unscathed but a little shaky and very grumpy. Luckily Hoi An is the most beautiful place in the world so we are going to stay here for a while to recharge. More about Hoi An later
Helen x x


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Water ParkWater Park
Water Park

Moments after this photo was taken Helen got drenched as I crashed into the water. I found this extremly funny as did everyone else. He he!! Ps. The camera was fine.


Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb