An Uneasy Ride


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Central Highlands » Lam Dong » Da Lat
February 7th 2007
Published: February 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Biking in the mountainsBiking in the mountainsBiking in the mountains

This was the one and only picture my tired body could manage.
Having spent four days in Vietnam, meeting up with other teachers from our program in Saigon, we were nicely settling into life in Vietnam. We made our way north on another cramped bus that didn't fit anyone's legs, except maybe all the Asian's. We landed in Da Lat, a town set high up in the mountains of Vietnam, a sort of artist community/college town and a great base for adventure trips. Having spent too many hours either eating icecream, riding in tiny tiny buses, or at street vendors, I was desparate for some physical activity. So the first chance I got I signed up for a mountain biking trip. It was listed as a class 5 on a scale of difficulty, and too be honest I thought it might be a little easy for me. I saw a group of older looking americans head off on bikes into the hills earlier that day, so I had confidence I should have left at the hotel. I also think I had a memory lapse, because I thought that I was still and active person, but the reality is, behind lugging my backback up a few flights of stairs or walking back and forth between 2 resturants because we can't decide which to eat at doesn't really count as exercise.

So basically, the next day consisted of me trying contrive a plan to throw myself off a cliff while mountainbiking because I honestly believed it would hurt less than going up another hill. I don't think my heart has pounded that hard since the New Kids on the Block Concert and that was back in '91.......

Needless to say... here is the one and only picture I took all day long. the only one my arms had energy enough to snap.



Advertisement



12th February 2007

Hope you have recovered. The one and only picture is beautiful. I would not have thought that I would see pine trees in Vietnam.
12th February 2007

It is hard to fathom that Miss Marathon runner is out of shape. Touring is hard work. Love ya

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0799s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb