Yurt camp wind down


Advertisement
Uzbekistan's flag
Asia » Uzbekistan » Urgench
April 24th 2013
Published: April 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I'm tired !!

The tour has come to an end and I think it was time . We were all tired puppies the last 2 days . The 10 hour bus trip was taxing and being on intake takes a lot of energy ...BUT energy well spent . When I return home to my computer I will post some photos to give you some visuals to go with the words I have been writing . I should also let you know that I print the blog ,comments and all,as a companion piece for my travel albums . One of these days I will take advantage of the book publishing option the Blog offers ... one of these days.

Meanwhile back at the Yurt .

The camp is in an area known as "Fifty Forts" .The first hilltop fortresses were built there in the 2ndC B.C. and continued to be lived in until the 3rdC A.D.. The one where our camp was was easy enough to walk up and into and had had about 5000 people living there . Mostly the ruling folks and their admin types and religous guys. They were Zorostrian although there was a Buddhist influence there as well . The forts are high enough and close enough to each other that they could communicate with fires at night . Not sure how but that is what they did . It was interesting to watch Yura . He hadn't been there for 2 years and he was excited to be there. The next morning we drove to the next fort (40km by road) and it was much larger than ours. The Soviets started the digs and the Uzbek's have tried to maintain the work that was done . Only 20% of the sites are visible (?) but it does give you an idea of what was there .

Our last evening was spent in the dining Yurt . These really are large structures . There were 7 in our camp and we used 4 of them . They are quiite beautiful and very romantic except where they leaked in the rain . Not to deter us though as it was to be a party night ... the last night we were all together . It was fun with many snacks brought out of suitcases , music from I-phones for dancing ,food that was hot and good and of course several bottles of beer and vodka . I can not tell a lie I fell asleep early and the group partied on without me.

It really was a good group and we had a lot of fun.

Our last day we did the usual bus trip , 2 1/2 hours this time to Nukus where we went to a great art gallery . Considered to be the best in Central Asia. Very impressive works that somehow managed to escape the Soviet censors. Lucky for us as there are some very impressive works there . After supper we flew into Tashkent and were treated to the very posh "Uzbekistan Hotel" .It was nice enough but as you know hotels depress me . The 2 Aussies and I were the only ones left this morning and we said our goodbyes at breakfast.

I am now back at the Grand Orzu and was greeted with smiles and questions when I checked in ... that felt good . I was wise to book 2 more nights there before I leave for Istanbul and Kayseri on the 26th . I banged my head on the Yurt door the other night and although it is tender and bled a lot it is healling well .

Anyway I think that will wind up "My Journey Through Uzbekistan ".

The next entry will be from Turkey !!

Hope all is well ... do love the comments...

Advertisement



24th April 2013

Saying goodbye is never easy. Somehow I think you will keep a line of communication open with your new friends. So how many drinks had you had when you banged your head on the door?:) I anxiously await your pictures.
24th April 2013

Mini mini blizzard and signs of spring
Am loving reading your blog. Almost feel I am at some of the events and am looking forward to more on Turkey. Go for a Turkish bath if you get the chance. Here, during Juno week, you could almost feel the electricty in the air downtown. Working so close by to the big tent and the Sask Hotel gave my co-workeres and I an opportunity to celebrety watch. I did not go to any of the events as Ken Hamm did a house concert at Karen and Trevor Harriot's Friday night to raise money for saving the PFRA pastures from being sold off. He did it for free and donated all the money from the CDs sold as well. Man do I love slide steel guitar. Trevor announced that Margaret Atwood and her husband are coming to Regina in late June to support the cause and we are organizing a fundraising dinner around her at the Sask Hotel. Jill and I also went to the lake Sat and Sun to do more flood proofing. The boathouse is all emptied out and almost all the cabin furniture is up on blockes (hopefully) high enough if water comes in. We are pretty much as ready as we can be. All is good here, sounds like it is there as well. Jane All is good here.
24th April 2013

Yurts
Pam I am curious about the Yurts, have not idea about accommodations there but yurts are becoming popular in the state parks here. Your guide Yuri sounds like he has put together a great agenda for you. I look forward to your pictures. Travel safe and we will be in touch. D
25th April 2013

Ouch!
You know the Tibetans say they delibertly build the threshholds of their houses low to prevent zombies from entry. I guess you're not a zombie! Take care of your head. Fresh snow again. You're missing nothing.
26th April 2013

Almost like being there
Hi! I love reading your stories it is almost like being there....I said ALMOST!....I am sure it is very "déstabilisant". I tried to follow on my Atlas but it is not easy. Have a nice stay in Turky. You will be happy being home at the end of the trip. Especially since spring is now sure to be here, daffodills and all those beautiful colored plants are ready to show their faces and I had my first barbq and it was so good.Bye.

Tot: 0.376s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1074s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb