Peace Corps Assignment


Advertisement
Turkmenistan's flag
Asia » Turkmenistan
August 16th 2005
Published: August 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I have received word this week about my Peace Corps assignment. I will be heading to Turkmenistan on September 29. Due to a complete police state and US government policy towards employees keeping blogs it might be difficult for me to keep this blog up (something I haven't done since January anyway!). If you are interested in receiving emails from my about my work as a public health volunteer in Turkmenistan please drop me an email and I will include you in either this blog, or more realistically a mass email which seems to be the only way to go about things.

Many countries, China for example, hire many internet censors to work on monitoring the web traffic which moves through the country. This applies to websites visited and also emails written, espcially blogs which are permanently posted for a public audience. Due to these circumstances I am anticipating that I will need to use mostly normal snail mail.

With this in mind... please email me any current addresses I will be able to write to if this blog does not work out. I will soon be posting an address which people can reach me at in Ashgabat. I would appreciate any mail you can handle sending! It may take a long time for post to arrive in country, therefore even letters written in the next few weeks will be appreciated. If you post it this week I may not even see it until December!

Until soon,
and thanks for reading.

Stephen

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb