The Land of Smiles


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
October 15th 2006
Published: November 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Sawadee Kha. I've been travelling through Thailand for the last three weeks with my wonderful friend, Lindsey Calderwood. In all honesty, it has been pretty intense. One minute I hate Thailand and the next minute I can't get enough, I love it.
The good: the children with their huge smiles, the breathtaking, colorful/golden wats (temples), the peaceful monks walking amongst pure chaos yet so relaxed and calm.
The Bad: being harassed by Tuk-Tuk drivers, an unpleasant week of travellers diarhea (the worst was at the bus station in Bangkok, trying to balance on the squatter toilet with my backpack on), the extreme heat and humidity, the impossibility of going for a wander down the street and not smelling a hundred different smells, from bbq meat, durians (rotting brain smell and taste), salted fish, fish oil, garbage, sewage (all contributing to my nauseousness), and people pointing and laughing at us (perhaps now I know what racism feel like).
Highlights:
Wats (especially the Grand Palace, home of the Emerald Buddha)
Pictures of the King EVERYWHERE! Long live the King!
Saffron Colored Robes that the monks wear.
Locals sheltering their face with umbrellas.
Yellow t-shirts represent support for the king...now I understand why yellow is the most popular color to wear.
How ridiculously cheap everything is! Accomodation is roughly $6 and you can get a delicious local feed for $1-2. Renting a bike for a day is $1. A visit to the doctor in the hospital including consultation, stool sample, and 3 prescriptions was a whopping $34!
Fruit stands! $1 for a whole pineapple, watermelon or any other exotic fruit of your choice.
Coconut shakes.
Fans in the guesthouse rooms.
Kanchanaburi-Death Railway from WWII.
End of Buddhist Lent festival in Sukhothai. Interesting traditional Thai music and dance and heaps of people racing down the river in longtail boats.
Elephant trekking through the jungle in Kho Chang.
Visiting hill-tribe villages, especially the Long Neck Karen. The women wear long brass wound spirals around their necks. They weigh several kilos and push down on the muscles around the collarbone, giving the impression of a longer neck.The primary reason for wearing them now is for beauty and to preserve their culture while they are in exhile from Myanmar.
White water rafting from Pai to Mae Hong Son. Preferred method of transportation over a crammed mini-bus.




Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

why notwhy not
why not

check out the picture of the king on the back of the bike. long live the king!
thai school kidsthai school kids
thai school kids

Grand Palace. These two cute Thai girls are asking Lindsey questions in English...good homework assignment.
classicclassic
classic

4 tiny Thais on a motorbike....amazing!


2nd November 2006

Love getting your Blog entries
I love your Blog entries. Nothing like doing some vicarious traveling between meetings. Thailand sounds wonderful (sans the squatter toilet thing -- I kind of remember that scene from my traveling days.) Keep it coming.
3rd November 2006

Beautiful shots!
I hope you're feeling better, Rachel! You surprise me at every turn with your wild, wonderful travels. Keep 'em coming as much as humanly possible! You rock! Love and luck, Mercedes
4th November 2006

Sawadhee Kha
Rachel! Did you really go elephant trekking? THat is so sweet!! What an intense trip. I hope you are loving it more than not, and I hope you don't forget about all of your friends back in the old U.S. ;) I miss you and hope for safe travels. ps my mom read your site and thinks you are a CRAZY ADVENTURER!!! love you!!
19th November 2006

Sawadee Kha
Hey Rach, Looks like you're having a fantastic time. Love all the photo's, Thailand is definately on my list now although not sure about the squat toilet!!! I still keep meaning to set up my Travelblog, will do it soon...... Keep the photo's coming and keep having fun. Take care Love Lisa
29th December 2006

Rachel I love your pictures and your summary of your travels. Now I feel like I have to getto Thailand, it looks beautiful!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb