Biting Ants & Beach Sellers


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
July 23rd 2006
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 12.8, 99.9667

Mel woke around 12 kicking and crying. "What's wrong Mel?" "You wouldn't understand" She gave me 4 good kicks to lower legs. "DONT KICK ME" “I didn't” She turned over, starting to cry, and then stopped. Then started crying again, turned over and stopped. Of course, this morning, she remembers nothing!!

I had turned the air-con off when I went to bed at 9.45. Maybe this was Mel's problem as the room was very hot at 12. I turned on air-con. After 10 minutes I could feel a cool breeze and went to sleep. Woke again at some stage and turned it off.

Woke at 6. Waited for Mel to wake and/or to get a note from Nana & Pa to go for a swim. I didn't see note until 20 minutes later. Mel didn't want a swim in the sea. She told me to go and she'd follow me down. I was in and swimming (well, semi floating maybe!!) when she got to beach. It was low tide. To go from belly button deep to water edge took 110 steps. From there to high tide mark another 118 steps. (I was obviously bored!!) Mel had grabbed my skirt and top so, after a quick dip in the pool, I changed (after a pool side shower) and we went straight to breaky. Just got our drinks when Mel got something in her eye. I tried to wipe and flush it out but couldn't so we headed for our room. Met Nana on way who came up and, using corner of a tissue, got it out. Back to breaky. Usual far.

Then it's hard to remember the order of things as we did a bit.

We went for a walk to get a few souvenirs for Kyla Miss Clear (school teacher – for Christmas), Sue, Kerryn, Mel and myself and for the pressie box at home.

We went for a swim in the long pool. Since Pa flicked the switch, they've had the water works going ever since – fish and/or elephant trunks and/or umbrellas and/or over bar area. Mel and I played for a while in there. I found BHT10

We had lunch in Nana & Pa's room - left over breaky things.

Mel and I went for a walk to look for a top for me to wear tonight. Found some nice ones but they only had one in xxxl and we didn't like the colour. Went to 7 Eleven and bought a nestle sundae ice cream. You buy it in a tube. We got double choc chip. We bought it, we removed the cover then found out we needed to bring our own cup – very bizarre!! They don't have cups (although they sell soft drink by the cup full). The tube was put through a machine to crush it up – being placed into the cup once finished.

We went to beach and got mugged by the sellers. One lot were trying to sell Mel a sarong. They had some lovely pleated ones – thick material so they could also be a skirt. One had black along base that she didn't like. At the some time, I had a lady trying to sell me hand crocheted tops – they were very lovely. Mel said she'd think about it then found herself presented with a bag as if she'd bought it. The poor girl had no idea what was happening. To make matters worse, she got bitten by some ants. There were heaps where she was standing so I got her to go onto sand more. She was almost in tears. As she walked over to the chairs to sit, one of the sellers chased after her, got something out of her bum bag and put it on Mel's bites. It did seemed to help. I was worried about Mel but was still being hassled by the sellers. I think this is the way they work – confuse the hell out of you so you don't know what's going on and end up spending more money than you want!! I agreed to buy a sarong for BHT250 but when I went to get the money – woops – only had BHT200. I was going to get Mel to find Nana but the man agreed to BHT200. Mel got her sarong. I chose white crochet cardigan and had to send Mel over to Nana by the pool in hotel to borrow money. I got her down to BHT350. Mum came and looked at the top and lent me the money.

Mel and I had a long swim in the pool together. She was standing and sitting on my shoulders and having fun.

Talked it over with Mum. They had sellers on the beach (!!) selling (!!) blankets. I have been umming and aahing over them for last 6 days. I get either one big one for couch or 2 smaller ones for the living room chairs. Asked Mum for BHT600. We went to beach but they'd all gone. Mel and I walked along beach for a short way but couldn't find them. We walked back to the 'hotel beach' and started to build a sandcastle. We saw a seller so approached him. I asked for the price for two – BHT 1200. No way – too much. BHT500? No no. They offered a small and medium for BHT600 when I said that's all I'd pay. I said had to both be the same size. They finally agreed. You feel great for bartering so well, but you are left wondering if you could have bartered harder!! Quickly took blankets back to hotel (got a pink and a blue one). I did an extremely quick pack and raced back to the beach to build a sand castle in 20 minutes. We did it – not as decorated as it could have been, but still very nice.

We started on waters edge again (last one was now in the process of being washed away). We were probably 10 steps above high tide line from this morning. We built a castle and tunnelled underneath it. We made a 'bunker wall' to stop the sea from hitting our construction. High tide was higher this time and put our castle in jeopardy!! It was still there as we ran back to the hotel.

Very quick shower for me, both dressed – I wore my new white crochet top (Mel pointed out the pattern was a bunch of bananas) and off we went, with Nana and Pa, to the farewell dinner.

Julie gave us all a present – 2 bookmarks and 2 pair of chopsticks. One of our pair of chopsticks had a spoon and fork at the eating end. Also got a postcard of the hotel with a farewell message on it. Very nice. Buffet dinner. Beautifully decorated. They had a huge flower that was carved out of a watermelon. The dessert plates had tiny flowers piped onto plates.

It was a very late night for Mel.

Back to room. I did more packing as Mel got ready for bed.

I gave Mel a dose of phenergon to help for the bus trip tomorrow.

BREAKFAST MENU

CEREAL

Coco Pops

Cornflakes

FRUIT

Bananas (like Lady Fingers)

Pineapple

Watermelon

Papaya

Dragon Fruit

??

HOT FOOD

Eggs – cooked as you wait (sunny-side
up, sunny-side down, omelettes)

Bacon

Sausages (like skinless cocktail franks)

Pancakes (actually picklets)

French Toast

Thai Curry

Rice (Boiled, Streamed or Fried)

Stir Fry Mixed Vegetables

Dish with Pork Meat

Rice Porridge with Pork

Mince

Shrimp Dish

Fried Rice with Chinese Sausages

SALADS

Lettuce

Tomato

Onion

Cheese

Spring Onion

Cucumber

BREAD – 8 VARIETIES including

Rye

Wholemeal

White

(Both pre-sliced and slice-your-own)

ROLLS

Sugar Topped rolls

Round rolls

Oval rolls

White rolls

PASTRIES

Croissants

Croissants with almond flakes toasted

Danish pastries

CAKES

Sultana Loaf

Plain

Another variety

DRINKS

Tomato Juice

Pineapple Juice

Orange Juice (cordial)

Milk

Water

Tea

Coffee



Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb