Kopped by the Kip (and the Baht)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
March 10th 2015
Published: March 19th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Some of those who know me will know that I hate paying bank charges. It probably borders on the obsessive at time, I know. I just try to avoid it at all time. So I am not impressed that I have been really caught in Laos and Thailand.



Any card transaction for purchases or cash including ATM's in Laos incur at least three percent on top of anything your own bank might charge. Not having cash, we have used up the last of our USD and it has probably cost us $30 or more in charges. Grggh. Jane talks about the cost of travel. I seeth.



In Thailand it is the same story. All ATMs (I found one internet post that the three Citibank branches in Bangkok are a very rare exception) charge 180 baht ($6) for each transaction. At least in Thailand you can extract higher cash amounts. We stilled ended up with $18 of charges.



The solution is to bring USD or Euros - all that you need for your time in Laos and Thailand and then change it when you need Kip or Baht at exchanges as they give you a better rate than restaurants and shops etc. Just keep the cash hidden in several secret stashes and use it up as you go.



You can get USD cheaply at ATM's in Cambodia where it is a parallel currency although you still have to shop around to find an ATM that does not charge there too.



I hope this helps anyone who plans to visit these truly amazing countries!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb