Good Morning Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
May 13th 2012
Published: May 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I'm struggling a bit to coordinate pictures with posts so I'll switch back and forth until I figure it out. It's a beautiful morning before the start of the rainy season. It's plenty hot in Bangkok right now. I've never been here this time of year. We went to the old capitol of Siam on Saturday which was pretty interesting. It seems like after the fall of Angkor Watt the building of temple complexes must have shifted here. It isn't as elaborate as Angkor Watt and definitley not as well preserved, probably because of building materials. The city flooded terribly last year and was under about two meters of water. It did extensive damage to the temples and there is a lot of restoration going on. Yesterday we went to Chinatown and the weekend market. I'll try to post some pictures. I wish there was some way of posting the smells of a city. Some are delightful like Thai street food which is the best and some are wretched like Borboun Street, New Orleans after a night of debauchary.

We have a new program starting today which goes through Friday. I'll see if I can get some pictures up this week. The adjustment hasn't been so bad so far because I'm around colleagues I've worked with in the U.S. but next Monday all that will change. I'm sure my blogging will increase once I'm in Cambodia. I'll try to do better.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.097s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb