Ride 3: Hua Hin to Prachuapkirinkhan


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
March 1st 2011
Published: March 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Alarm goes off at 5am after a broken nights sleep, 3 or 4 hours at most. Trouble sleeping the last few days and a throbbing headache. I get up and get out by 5:30am. As I am leaving the hotel I hear an English man shout at me "where are you off to?". scares the crap out of me and I look around to see no one. "you cycling around thailand?", this time I look up to see a man peering over the balcony from about 3 flights up. I tell him my story, he says I am mad, nothing new there. He comments on how early it is and I agree while wondering if he realises he is still up at 5:30 am.
There is more traffic on the road than I was expecting. May be starting so early isn't the best Idea. I start to wonder what I am doing riding in the backwoods of thailand in the pitch black, may be not the best idea I have ever had. Despite the spray the mosquitoes decide to have a good chomp on my legs. About 30 bites on each leg by the end of the day. From then on I spray liberally.
This ride is a bit of a blank as I didn't have my gps so I can't look back at the route to remind me of what is was like. Needless to say the first 2 hours or so was in darkness so there is nothing to write about. As the day got brighter the heat started up again. I think the day was just a flat ride on a highway, nothing to report. There was stops at a few services stations for food an water but that was about it. Total distance was around 100km.
Prachuapkirinkhan was a nice bay seaside resort. A big open bay so the beach area was nice but the town itself was a nothing special. There was a spectacular looking monastery sitting on top of a hill right by the town but my legs weren't going to carry me up the steps to get there. Instead I just walked around the town getting hassled by the occasional group of dogs. I am probably not doing the "tourist" section of my holiday very well. Riding takes it out of you. by the time you get to the destination all you want to do is shower, have food and rest. I have seen so many signs for waterfalls and monasteries but can't be bothered with the extra kms to get to them.
In bed by 9pm. Another restless night. I seemed to have developed a headache that only hurts when I lay down. Must have strained a neck muscle or something. I can no longer rest on the left hand side of my head. Unable to sleep and a headache, ace. I wake for my alarm clock at 5am and thank jebus that there is a thunderstorm going on outside. I clearly can't go riding today so I try and get back to sleep. I get out of bed around 9:30am and wonder what should I do. I am tired and it is late but I don't want to hang around this town for a day so I decided to hit the road.
ride 3 over. late start, hot day, suffering.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb