Travel, Travel and more Travel


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
November 17th 2010
Published: November 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well not much exciting yet. 20 hours of travelling introduces you to a variety of people who seem oblivious of those around them. My plane ride was a series of ups and downs.
My seat of course had to be in the very center of the plane sandwiched in between James and an old chinese man. My first setback on the flight was finding out my tv didnt work but lucky for me I got to switch seats and was moved to the window side with my own two seats. This allowed me to stretch out a bit more in search of that elusive comfortable position.

About 7 hours into the flight I was introduced to Mr. Oblivious 1. The plane lights were turned off and most people were sleeping or trying to sleep. Mr. Oblivous 1 decide that he want to read his newspaper and the individual light is not good enough. Instead of toughing it out he decide to open the window and blast the entire plane with sunlight. The glares from those around him must have deflected off of his newspaper. So much for sleep.

After about a half an hour he closed his newspaper so I could try and sleep again. Enter Mrs. Oblivous 2. The lady behind me had trouble figureing out how to take her remote control off of the back of my seat. So instead she just hammered the buttons while it was still on the seat behind my head. Trying to sleep while my head was getting pounded forward prompted me to stand up and glare at her. She seemed to get the message and stop.... until I was asleep an hour later and I felt a THUMP...THUMP...THUMP on the back of my seat. Again I stood up and turned around to see her smiling waving the remote control at me and saying 'sowwy, sowwy.''

And when I thouht I had met all of the oblivious people on our particular flight, enter Mrs. Oblivious 3. This lady decided that the empty seat beside me that I was sprawled over would be a perfect place to chill for a bit. I was sound asleep when I felt something slam against my side. I woke up to some woman pushing her jacket and other odds and ends against me as she made her self comfortable in my spare seat. She stayed for about 20 minutes then left. I decided to stretch out more to avoid someone else trying that. That didnt seem to stop the lady when she came back an hour later and did the same thing. Only this time she practically sat on my arm and leg that were draped over the seat. Needless to say I was not very impressed with a few of my flightmates.

Other than the trio of oblivious the flight was very ordinary. We eventually got into Bangkok where they stole my water bottle and then to our hotel. It is really warm here and kind of feels like the jungle area in the vancouver aquarium with the mugginess. Looking forward to my first day here.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1204s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb