the great escape


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
January 13th 2010
Published: January 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

THE GREAT ESCAPE

5 Jan 10 Well, it seems that our timing was spot on! As we headed south on a freezing cold “Mega Bus” we had no idea that we were being followed down the country by the blizzards that were going to make things so grim and totally horrid for you all. As we took off from Heathrow, the snow had just started in London and as the northern airports had all been closed on and off all day we considered ourselves lucky to get away only a few minutes later than planned.
First leg of the flight was not bad at all; the ladies and gents from Gulf Air served up some rather fine nosh including lamb braised in horse radish and a particularly nice dry red wine. With only just over 6 hours flight time to bahrain I was anxious to get some gonking done and was quite aghasp when we were woken up after only an hours “lights out” only to be fed again!! This got on my goat more than a little and definitely called for an appearance by Victor Meldrew. “I don't want my to break my bloody fast now thank you very much, it's the middle of the bloody night , only 2 hours since you last fed me and I hardly consider that fasting!!” Anyway, after a mild tantrum I accepted that the myth of sleeping in economy class without the aid of multiple intoxicants, still stands and I began to think about the last time we flew into Bahrain several years ago: flights to Goa were routed through Bahrain and with a 1 hour refuelling stop it was possible to clear passport control and gallop thru the duty free area to a small bar that served ice cold beer and had a smoking area. I wondered if it was still there and with that, those receptor things in my brain told me that I needed a fag: hail the second coming of Victor Meldrew! Mr Grumpy was definitely alive and kicking!
NB Just for the aid of those remaining lepers; yes it is still there and yes you can still smoke, hallelujah!!
Bahrain to Bangkok went quite smoothly but once again, just as the majority of economy class cattle had started to snooze, the feeding commenced again!! Henceforth, we arrived in Bangkok at 1830 local time stuffed fuller than butcher's dogs and I suppose that in these days when luxuries such as inflight meals, drinks and even seats are being charged at a premium by many airlines, I should be grateful. Thankyou Gulf Air, overall I give you 7/10, its a “yes” from me! Please tell all your friends that in all seriousness this is a quality airline!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb