3 Days In Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
February 19th 2009
Published: February 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After three days in Bangkok I am quite looking forward to getting out of here. It's been fun, but I've spent most of my time trying to fight off con-artists and touts. Every single person here has some kind of motive, the tuktuk drivers all wanna take you somewhere you don't wanna go, someone talking to you in the street has some kind of motive, its paranoid city! Was involved in a very elaborate scam today, involving three or four "actors" in different places, a tuktuk driver and a jewellery store. I managed to get away without losing my money, went back to the hotel and looked it up, the scam was in my Rough Guide to Thailand, pretty much word for word. I was almost tempted to buy that jewellery and double my money by selling it on. But then I realised I wasn't a COMPLETE idiot. Can't be bothered to give full details but it was actually pretty impressive how they laid it out! I'm just glad I wasn't drunk. I am travelling to Chiang Mai tomorrow, staying 2 nights then trekking for 3 days involving riding heffalumps and barging down a river. Sounds amazing. I probably paid a bit too much for that as well, but I am learning fast you can trust nobody. I am ultra-paranoid. I'm starting to suspect Princess Diana was murdered. And the moon landings were faked. I don't even trust myself not to rob me while I'm asleep.

To be fair I have really had a good time here, I went to watch Thai boxing at a big stadium, had enormous fun riding around in tuktuks, took a walk down Patpong (absolute filth!), visited some temples and had a quiet word in Buddha's ear about some of his so called "followers." Khaosan Road is fantastic, and would be even better if I wanted a suit made up or a massage with boom-boom.

I read with regards to Bangkok you either love it or hate it. I love it and hate it equally.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb