Massage school + Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
August 2nd 2008
Published: August 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

An email to my parents with further reflections on massage school. I decided just to copy onto here to save time and energy:


Yeah, the school was definately the right choice. I don't have plans between the fourth and the fifth, no. A bit of frantic sightseeing, maybe? one last crack at the shopping? I dunno. Oh, the morning of the fourth I'm going to a thai yoga session at the monastery, a little bonus of the course. I think it'll be worthwhile.

My hotel room is pretty hilarious. Good thing this massage school is completely exhausting or I'd have to get drunk to fall asleep. The guy in the room next to me keeps bringing prostitutes up, not very condusive to my studies. Shared bathroom, cold water, when you pee in the urinal it all lands on your foot. You only pee in the urinal once. The frame of the bed is too small for the mattress, so it slips off. tiny room. No exterior window. no TV. Just my guitars.

It's actually fine, the room I stayed in in Phnom Penh was worse. Actually, the room is reasonably clean and there are no bugs, which is the bottom line for me. Plus it's affordable.

It's been fun in the school. Lot's of studying. But I'm actually glad for it, because the progress is so immediate. It's also cool to hang out with the girls there, who are so cute and typically Thai. Always bragging about the kids they have, showing pictures, making jokes about the falang, offering you their daughter's hand, whatever. They all seem to have very open views on homosexuality and that junk, which seems to be quite prominent among young Thai women (less so among thai fathers, apparantly).

Tommorow is my exam, so I'll get to studying soon. I'm actually doing really well though - all the studying has paid off. I go home and read over the moves, till I think I've got'em memorized, they I play them over in my head, and cross reference with the sheet to make sure I've got it all. It actually reminds me a bit of Katas.

I'm more than happy to give you a massage, but make sure you know what you're asking for. It's two hours. I've bruised before.

This has been a good email. I think I'll just copy it to my blog instead of writing something - I'm too lazy.

Love,

T

Advertisement



Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0856s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb