update


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
January 22nd 2008
Published: January 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

22 January 2008
11:30 pm

Sorry I haven’t written in so long…we have been SO busy! They also changed our satellite so we were without internet for 4 days. The horror! We are currently at 9 degrees latitude, which puts us nearly at the equator. We lay out in our bathing suits in our free time and I’ve had two presentations in the last two days!

Anyway, things here are amazing. We get to Thailand tomorrow and I’m off to the beach first thing in the morning. You might not hear from me all week (I have no idea what internet access will be like), but I promise the best blog ever when I get back!

Love you all! Xoxo



19 January 2008
1:40 am

In twenty minutes I will gain an hour…we’re crossing our first time zone on the boat & I am so happy to be gaining instead of losing time!

We’ve spent the last two days on the boat getting reacquainted to a rocking ship. We had been still for a week and a half and hit rough waters as soon as we departed Shanghai. In fact, the captain had to make a special announcement to tell us to make sure to take everything off our shelves and make sure our computers are on the floor. In class today the white board fell over, as did many desks. When walking through the halls, everyone walks with a tilt to make up for the ship’s slant. We’ve also had to get used to being academic again…after a week in China, it’s hard to sit back down and listen to a lecture.

The weather is already starting to get a bit warmer. We passed Taiwan today and are currently trekking at 17 knots to Thailand. I cannot wait to be in my bathing suit. It will surely be strange to go from 20 degrees to 90 degrees in a week! Sunshine here I come!

I don’t have any exciting updates…life is pretty routine and filled with classes and meetings. I’m trying to make plans for Thailand, but it’s a bit difficult with the lack of internet. I have a lonely planet guide to Bangkok and I’m thinking of going to one of their recommended islands in the south of Thailand. I’ll just rent a bungalow for a few days and relax at the beach. If anyone has other suggestions for Thailand activities, I’m open to ideas!



Advertisement



22nd January 2008

You sound good
I'm glad you are making nice plans for Thailand. Will anyone go with you to the Island if that's what you do? Wish I was there! Love you, Mom xoxo
23rd January 2008

Hi to Megan from Dad
Megan: it's great reading your blog. I like all the pictures; your camera is working great. Mom and I are glad to hear you are doing well. You and I are SOOOOO much alike ! Peace out

Tot: 0.253s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1103s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb