Day 2


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
July 12th 2007
Published: July 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So slept for 15hours last night, missed dinner and cried myself to sleep. Eventful hey! The cold has harvested itself quite comfortably inside me and I think it might get me off work for a few days- I truly am disgusting and grumpy, imagine putting me in-front of a class right now, it would be “Suicide 101”.
The air-con is killing me, but then again, the temperature without out the air-con is also fairly deadly, especially with my cold, I don’t know whether to sweat because I’m too hot or because I freezing.
The building I’m living is well, massive and well, clean, both of which come at a bit of a surprise. I've got my own TV and cable, the “Star Movies” channel is keeping me fairly occupied but I have to say, I am DYING to watch Big Brother or Hollyoaks. Its times like this I realise I might actually be trailer trash. I fear that my emails to England will just be requests to update me on the TV gossip. Yes I think coming here to find a life was a good idea!
I’ve unpacked which was a little odd, made me realise that there is no going back, and can’t quite get my head around the fact that this is going to be my home for the next 6months. I still feel like I’m going to go home in a few weeks. I put up photos off all my friends and my boyfriend and I realised, I have such a wonderful life and right now, I don’t want this. I don’t want to be uprooted from everything I love but I fear it may be too late. I have promised myself that I would give this a go but right now I can’t see myself lasting more than a few months. I love my friends, I love London and I love my boyfriend and right now I have none of that.
I found one my boyfriends socks in my suitcase, he was joking before I left that the sock was trying to escape the washing machine, guess it escaped for good.
I want to get on the internet ASAP….need to have some communication with the outside world, pronto. I need some more sleep.

Coming up to the end of the day. Met the boss who is 5’5, talks so quietly I have neck ache from straining to hear him speak, hair that looks like its been sprayed on and a humour that would make Hitler funny. Then there’s the Headmaster of the school. In Thailand it is necessary for the headmaster to be native Thai but to also speak fluent English- I think they skimmed on the English part. He is adorable, nickname of Yos but I cannot for the life of me understand a word he says and I feel awful about it. The worst thing about it is because I cant understand him, I find myself busying myself with other things so as to avoid talking to him, but he still continues to tell me stories-there is only so much nodding and smiling I can take. He was also sweet enough to try and make my cold better by shoving herbs under my nose and turning off all the air-con to the much annoyance of all including myself. Even when rubbing sweat off my forehead and fanning myself he didn’t quite get that I was too hot, all very sweet.
Sent emails to all close to me, any messages I did have made me cry, unfortunately this was in-front of the boss and headmaster but typical men (and thankfully) they said nothing. Also been told that I won’t get a phone until mid next week which is slightly frustrating but at least the internet is easy to get hold of so I’m not totally excluded from everything I’m familiar with.
Dad is still trying to take my mind off everything, still pretty much talking at me but it’s nice to having him trying. I’m making particular friends with my bed and the cable TV, haven’t eaten all day, apart from 2apples so might attempt at some dinner in a bit and then MORE sleep.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb