Quick update


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
July 23rd 2005
Published: August 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hello all -

Please accept my apologies everyone for being a miserable correspondent, and for updating my blog and keeping you abreast of my adventures so inadequately. I have been crazy crazy busy, working a minimum of 12 hour days, working on weekends, completely abdicating my responsibilities as a volunteer English teacher in favour of my responsibilities at my two paid jobs... I'm pretty exhausted.

I would like to say that I am aware that the following people particularly deserve emails and so I double my apologies to you: Vanessa, Jesse, Andreas, Malene, Jody (CONGRATULATIONS! Wonderful news!! Look forward to coming to Waterloo in July 2007 :D) and Fickle. Hmm.. that's not half as many as I thought.

A summary of my life recently: work obviously has been a large component; I went to Laos again, for another visa run and to attend the wedding of Nok, one of our staff (photos to come); ummm... I'm sure there's been some social activities... I know I haven't *slept* in the office... phwoarh... plans are afoot for travels to India, Morocco and Europe next year; I'm coming home at the end of August! (possibly August 19 - Hi Mum! yes, little earlier than planned - till Sept 4); I hung out with the very very cool Edi and Trent; I went to a conference in Ubon Ratchathani, in the depths of Isaan which included a visit to a border point, where I saw sad sights in cages (a blog to come on that one)... yeah.

Next week I will be in Burma all week, with NO EMAIL ACCESS! Which I am exceedingly pleased about. It means that no one can send me more work! I'm so very excited. I will be attending our Training-of-Trainers course, learning how to conduct trainings, alongside representatives of the Burmese junta. This part thrills me less obviously. So all day will be in the trainings, and then at night, I shall read that bastion of journalistic integrity and freedom, and shining example of critical thought, the New Light of Myanmar. I also plan to eat, read and write, while gazing upon Sule Paya. I might also foment revolution. (And now I'll found that someone of the junta follows my blog closely and I shall be denied entry when I arrive there...)

Anyway. If there are any emergencies, I will find out when I return. If you desperately need to contact, either contact my parents who know my work number in Myanmar, or look it up on my work's internet site.

xxx



Advertisement



Tot: 0.621s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb