Goodbye Thailand..Hello Burma!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
March 4th 2007
Published: March 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

From Phuket we took another overnight bus to get to Bangkok. It was probably the best bus trip and best service we have had yet. It was nice big seats that fully reclined and we had our own stewardess delivering wash clothes, snacks and water throughout the trip, we even had a washroom on board...that is very unusual on any of the buses here.

We arrived in Bangkok at around 430 am..luckily we have been here soo many times now it feels like home and we always know where we are going and how to get there. Unfortunatly we were half asleep and rushed when we got off the bus though and I left all my sovenirs and gifts for people on the bus. It took me soo long to find good gifts that are not your typical tacky sovenirs. I am still so upset. I have been looking for the whole trip to find some good stuff and then I did and lost them. I also lost some my shoes, towel and some clothes...very disappointing. 😞

After getting to our hotel we had time for a quick 3 hour nap to recover from our bus ride before we
Thai BeachThai BeachThai Beach

Big difference from bikinis and shorts..this is a typical asian beach
had to rush to the burmese embassy to get our visas. Luckily we didn't have any problems at all getting it. We were soo worried since our flights were 3 days away and the following days were weekends and a holiday and still had no visa. The only problem was it was an hour cab ride each way to get it and 8 hours waiting time for the actual visa...but I guess we are just lucky for even getting it at all. After all the running around and disappointment of losing my stuff Dave got me a beautiful Swarovski crystal crab..it was a nice suprise and cheer up 😊

After we got our visas we decided we would make a trip to a beach town called Hua Hin for the weekend so we didnt have to spend our whole time in Bangkok. Hua Hin is basically a thai resort town and a place for retired people to buy property. It is nothing specail but it was better than sitting and doing nothing in bangkok for three days. We found a really ncie hotel in Hua Hin so it made the stay more enjoyable.

The beach itself was really big and nice, although there were huge waves and jelly fish. We decided we would pass on the swimming..there was a nice enough breeze to cool us off. Hua Hin also had a really good night market. I was able to replace some of the sovenirs I lost with some new ones but they still are not as good.

After the few days that we had on the beach it was time to say goodbye to the beach and move on to Burma. We arrived back to bangkok tonight and are just having a chill night beacuse we have to wake up at 3am tomorrow to head to the airport. We will be in Burma until March. 14 and will have no acess to internet because of the government dictatorship. They are allowed no news from the outside world. After Burma we come home on March 16! So excited!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



4th March 2007

Phucket
Hey this is where R/C stayed for some time... they said they could never connect with you guys... always a day or so missing each other. They are home now...more later Nice hotel I can only imagine!! The pics are cool--I cant wait tohave you cook some thai or what ever you feel culturally lead to cook... as long as I dont ahve to do it!! LOL Hugz
5th March 2007

Nice Pics
Thanks for the update, and we will see you soon. Enjoy your last few weeks, and have a safe trip back. Miss you. Love DAD
12th March 2007

Hey Sweethearts, hope you are enjoying the last leg of your trip. I am so excited for the day you come home. I am hoping to be there when you get in. I will be there as long as I don't have to work. People at work are enjoying the pictures that I print off. I miss you both soooo much. Take care and we will be seeing you very soon!! Love ya Hugs and kisses, Mom

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0734s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb