The day we left Koh Chang.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
January 22nd 2018
Published: January 22nd 2018
Edit Blog Post

Sunday: January 22nd

Good afternoon to all of you just starting your Monday. I am a tad behind with my blogging but do not fret because my Sunday was quite uneventful.

Libby and I got up early again to head down to the beach. We lounged and ordered our cappuccinos. She facetimed her mom to make her jealous of our view which I chose not to do 😊

Breakfast was in the same style as yesterday which was as much made-to-order food as you wanted. I first ordered two tiny breakfast sandwiches with just eggs and cheese on croissants. I added a side of potatoes as well. I finished off my meal with another crepe which had chocolate sauce, cashews, and whipped cream. I would definitely miss this breakfast.

Before I showered and finished packing up I facetimed my family and got to talk to Jess, mom, and dad. Surprisingly, I haven't gotten homesick on this trip but talking with them made me wish they could be here with me. Trips just aren't the same without my family.

At 9 am, after taking many group photos, we threw our luggage back in the vans and headed out. We drove 20 minutes to get back on the ferry which was another 30 minutes across the ocean. As much as none of us wanted to leave Koh Chang, we were at least prepared for the four hour drive back to the airport. This time around, I actually slept during the drive and also spent some time writing my blogs. We stopped for lunch at a small outdoor restaurant and if I am being honest, this was my least favorite meal so far. Most of the options we had were spicy except for fried eggs and broiled fish (which tasted extra fishy). I didn't eat much. We were given some extra time to walk across the street and explore a walking market to shop. Libby and I instantly went to the first ice-cream shop we could find. I settled for a chocolate milkshake which really hit the spot.

Before it was time to walk back to the vans, I had to use the bathroom. I paid 3 baht ($0.10) to use the facility which was a basin that required you to squat. It was quite the first experience using a squatty potty but thankfully I had to go pretty badly and my thighs only burned a little.

The rest of the drive I slept and blogged, and then slept some more. We got to the airport with about an hour to spare so we relaxed and ate some fruit taffy that our teacher bought for us. The flight from Pattaya to Chiang Mai was about 50 minutes and luckily, Chelsea and I got the whole row to ourselves 😊 The flight was uneventful, and I blogged while Chelsea did some word searches (nerd). We landed in Chiang Mai around 6:15 pm and after being picked up at the airport, we headed to dinner. Dinner was at a nice restaurant which reminded me of fondue except instead of forks you use chopsticks, and instead of oil you use broth. So, you could either cook your food and eat it separately or you could eat it as a soup. Five of us sat at a table as we placed lots of corn, mushrooms, lettuce, pork, beef, and shrimp into the broth. It was super yummy and would be a great restaurant idea for back in the states!

Eating for at least an hour, everyone finally decided they were full. The journey back to BCNC was around 20 minutes. Lugging my suitcase up floor flights of stairs made my bed seem extra desirable. I knew I would sleep like a rock.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb