Walking with Elephants


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
January 14th 2018
Published: January 16th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Today is the day we’ve all been anxiously awaiting since we learned about the Thailand practicum, Elephant Camp day! We arose early and left at 7:30 am to drive outside the city limits of Chiang Mai to the countryside. As we drove along, I saw lots of poverty and run down shacks along the road and in little villages we passed. I still feel sad when we passed little vendors trying to make a living off of selling food or little products. The disparity of being here for pleasure and for learning, having plenty of baht to spend on souvenirs while the Thai poor are struggles to survive is heart breaking sometimes. Upon arrival, we were surrounded by elephants through and through. The landscape was green and serene and I felt relaxed being there. I could tell the touristy feel right away, but that was okay. We walked around the camp and then over to the elephant show, were we saw the elephants perform and do tricks with their handlers on their backs. Their efforts were amazing and I was in awe of their beauty. During the show, the elephants came right up to us with their handlers on their backs to say hello. I captured so many pictures, I couldn’t help it! We then fed the elephants sugar cane and bananas, which they followed us for and at times they stole pieces from us! They were eager for treats for their tricks! I got pictures with the elephants, as every year I see people posting their pictures with the elephants and I was so excited for my chance. I sat on the elephants knee as he wrapped his trunk around me and then gave me a kiss on the cheek! Great memories watching our group and the buddies take pictures and be brave to get near the elephants. The buddies especially were afraid of the elephants and their size. Libby and I went on the elephant trek together and this was a frightening and exhilarating experience, I was afraid and felt like we would slide right off the elephants yet we didn’t. The ride was bumpy yet so fun, we provided our elephants so many snacks and I think ChaCha was grateful! An ox cart ride was fun but also very uncomfortable, even bumpier than the elephant. My group agreed we were glad we didn’t live in the old days were oxen drove us around.

After a buffet lunch that was impressive and just as much delicious, we shopped and hung out. I purchased a porcelain elephant magnet with a palm leaf stamped on it to put on my refrigerator in the future and remember Thailand. I was blessed with the idea that I’ll place it on my refrigerator to view and remember to pray for the people of Thailand I met and for God’s grace and plan for them. I love the idea and I realized during that moment I have not been very attentive to sharing my faith with our buddies or the Thai people. I have a renewed purpose and joy to do this going forth in the trip. We took a raft ride down the river and this was the most relaxing and revitalizing time of the whole weekend. Siting on that little bench floating down the river amongst vibrant green colors and plants, I felt ultimately relaxed. At home, kayaking and canoeing on the Breeches or on vacation with my family has been some of the best memories surrounded by great people. This was a similar experience for me and I felt like home there. Our day concluded and we drove back to BCNC, getting back in the middle of the afternoon. A few of us got caught up on journaling, other napping, others exercising and all thankful for an unscheduled moment to catch up and enjoy being here and present. We ate pizza (wow cheese and carbs I have missed) and played volleyball.

I know some of our group was uncomfortable with the fact that the elephant camp was not a sanctuary and it was evident that the elephants were chained at times and without freedom to roam or water to drink. I was definitely weary at times with the unfairness of it all and treatment of the elephants; the handlers had pokers they would prod the elephants with and the elephants were prodded to push heavy logs and do tricks. Again as I said in Friday’s post, I was in awe of their beauty and enjoyed watching them do tricks and what they could do. Yet, I felt guilty at times as they were forced to do this day in and day out. Even some in our group refrained from posing for pictures with them and that leaves me conflicted. I am not an animal activist but I see issues with morality with forcing any animal to do work, or really hard labor, to make a tourist attraction or eve make money for their handlers. It has given me a lot to think about today.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb