January 8th — Day Three


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
January 9th 2018
Published: January 9th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Well, it’s 10:51pm now. I meant to get some great journaling in today since we had more free time, but I ended up talking to “Ajon" Debbie and one of my roommates, Mary, instead. I’m definitely an external processor, so though it was extremely helpful, it didn't help me get my journaling completed. I finally started to process all the thoughts running through my head from this past weekend. Though we spent a lot of our day touring and orienting to Nakornping Hospital, I really spent most of my time thinking about the values and spirituality that lays at the core of this culture as well as my personal believes in relationship to these.



For example, I started thinking about the values that lie at the foundation of Buddhism. I am almost embarrassed to tell people here that I am Christian. What do I have to offer them. They have already appeared to obtain more than I have in my walk, despite not having the Holy Spirit within them. They are selfless and humble, gentle and kind, patient and respectful. They are extremely considerate and aware. They follow beliefs of doing good and honoring all the life around them. How many Christians do we meet that we enjoy being with, and how many of them do we want to share our lives with them? Are they uplifting to be around? Do they complain or gossip a lot? Do they share their accomplishments and brag about who they’re better than someone else or offer a backward phrase or sentence so that they are told how special they are? Shouldn’t Christians instead be known as the most peaceful, joyful, kind, respectful, loving, etc. There’s something wrong here. Christians at least in America need to step up their game because well, I really do not feel like I have a ton to offer. I’m learning more about the fruits of the spirit from them than offering to them.





I’ve also been thinking a lot about my experience at the temple. My buddies walked around the statue at the middle of temple three times, lucky number. I walked around with them and instead of “wai-ing,” I prayed as I made my journey around. I strongly felt the presence of the Holy Spirit. Even in the center of Buddhist worship He is there. I imagine that the monks and Thai people experience His presence even in the temple, so is Buddha really anther name for God but just explained incorrectly. If we all experience this power, then how do I really now that my explanation of it is correct? I guess that’s faith. I definitely need to take more time to seek out the answers to these questions and perhaps share conversation with Christian missionaries in Buddhists countries.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0801s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb