ENTRY 53 — Soi Cowboy: Sex, naked ladies and blue diamonds


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Phetchaburi
November 29th 2007
Saved: September 6th 2022
Edit Blog Post

ENTRY 53 November 29th 2007

Sex, naked ladies and blue diamonds on Soi Cowboy





Soi Cowboy, Pattaya and Patpong are the focal points of Thailand's sex tourism. Soi Cowboy is the most notorious red-light district in Bangkok. A short street with some 40 bars, it caters mainly to tourists and expatriates. The area is named after T. G. "Cowboy" Edwards — a retired American airman who opened one of the first bars here in 1977.

Topless and nude dancing remain technically illegal. Most of the erotic dancers are also sex workers and will join a customer if he pays a "bar fine" and a separate fee to the girl. Sexual services usually take place in the tourist's hotel room. Soi Cowboy bars switch off their outside neon lights by 1 am and usually close at 2 am.

How, you may ask, does a morally upright Ajarn (professor) and pastor end up in a compromising position on Bangkok's infamous Soi Cowboy? Indeed, it is easier than you may think.

It actually began soon after Miranda and I arrived in Bangkok. We were returning to Asok Skytrain station by taxi, when our driver told us we must exit his cab because he had a "regular fare" to pick up at a certain time.

Miranda snipped, "You have not yet taken us to our destination as we requested."

"Too much traffic jam," was his reply. "Asok is over there," he instructed, vaguely waving his arm and nervously glancing at his watch.

Miranda refused to exit the cab. A crowd gathered near where I stood on the sidewalk. I asked them where the station was located. "Not far," they answered, eyes transfixed on Miranda, still sitting in the back seat of the cab.

The cab driver started to shout at her (very un-Thai), but Miranda remained calm and unperturbed, lecturing our driver on the basics of contract law. Then she calmly told him she would exit the taxi ... if he gave her ten Baht.

As the crowd watched in fascination, the unthinkable happened. The driver reached into his pocket and gave her the ten Baht. Those on the sidewalk began giggling, tittering and outright laughing.

"What's so funny?" I queried.

They explained, with glee, that it was rare for a tourist to "shake down" a taxi driver.

Notwithstanding our ten Baht, it was clear we had no real idea where we were. After walking a short distance, Miranda spotted the PM Pharmacy and we "dropped in" to ask directions. The owner explained in very clear English that all we needed to do was continue down Soi Cowboy and turn left at the end of the street.

We became good customers of the PM Pharmacy, due to the fact that the pharmacist: a) spoke fluent English; b) was very knowledgeable; c) kept his pharmacy air-conditioned and clean; d) did not require a doctor's prescription from us and e) had great prices. We actually became friends. It turned out that his daughter was a student at Thammasat University where I taught.


Several years later




Recently Miranda and I felt a sense of uneasiness. It was not just the pre-election cycle of intimidation and bombings. I actually sensed I was being followed. It was late afternoon when Miranda contacted me to tell me she had to work that evening. Feeling lazy, I decided to walk the short distance to our local restaurant, which we referred to as "The Slab". A very simple design, The Slab was literally a raised slab of concrete with heavy oak tables and chairs positioned on it. Unenclosed, there was a small kitchen at the back and a kiosk for noodle soup at the front, facing Soi Kasemsan 1. The staff was made up of very friendly servers and cooks who seemed to enjoy the multi-cultural array of customers that found their way to the place — half a block from Wendy House where we lived.

As I sat down, I was immediately joined by a balding man with an Australian accent. About 5' 9" tall and fifty years of age, he was wearing a plaid shirt and sunglasses. At first he was quite pleasant — charming even. However as he drank, his mood turned dark. He began to ask me all sorts of questions. Our conversation felt more like an interrogation. Then something very strange occurred. My hand was resting palm side down on the table. My 'friend' pulled out a Swiss Army knife and placed the blade on the lower joint of my little finger and stated, "If you are a real priest let me cut off your finger." I remained silent, not having seen this coming.



The man, eyes flaring, explained that he had been an agent with the Mossad, and, pressed the knife against my finger, repeating, "If you have faith, let me cut it off." I remember thinking that I knew many "real priests" with a strong faith, none of whom would want to lose part of their finger in this manner. I was in excruciating pain and the knife was starting to draw blood. In a loud, firm voice I asked him what kind of person comes into a restaurant and pulls a knife on a priest!

Both the foreigners and the locals in the restaurant looked shocked, and the eatery fell quiet. All eyes stared in horror at the man and his knife. I spoke loudly, "Thai people have great respect for priests of all denominations," my right hand now clutching my knobkerrie (heavy, wooden walking-stick). "If you assault me with your knife, I can guarantee things will not end well." The man looked at the 30 or so people staring at him, released the knife, and I pulled my hand away.

I left the Slab but kept an eye on him from a discrete distance. He next approached an attractive blond lady. The more
The Slab.The Slab.The Slab.

People of Soi Kasemsan 1, Rama 1 Road, Bangkok
they talked, the more upset the petite blond woman became. Finally she exited the Slab, heading in my direction. As she approached, I could see tears welling up in her eyes. "He is such a jerk," she declared angrily.

"Yes," I replied as we walked toward Wendy House. When I told her about the incident with the knife, she was incredulous and obviously wanted to talk to someone.

At Wendy House, we sat at one of the tables near the window in the corner. "Do you always position yourself with your back to the wall so that you can see everything?" she asked.

"I do not want any more surprises," I replied, ordering a Chang beer. She had a cooler. It became clear that he had been playing mind games with her. More unsettling were the questions she had been asked about me...


The PM Pharmacy



Now here is the really strange part...the next morning I met my 'friend' who seemed to have little recollection of the night before. Now sober he was back to his friendly charming self. He knew a great deal of local history and was actually good company...go figure?? In any event, my finger was causing me real pain as I tried to work on my computer. Also my TravelBlog account had crashed...it was gone! Not only mine but all of them — everyone was upset!

At about noon I set out for the PM Pharmacy, hoping to get something for my finger as well as our regular prescriptions. "Good Day, Ajarn Bryan," said the pharmacist. "How are you?"

"Not so good," I replied, telling him about my sense of being followed and the knife attack the evening before.

He looked carefully at the knife wound, asking if it was a paper cut.

"No," I replied.

Smiling, he explained: "Such a cut, because of its location can be very painful." He rubbed in an antiseptic ointment with anesthetic, and immediately the pain was gone. Then he applied a bandage that immobilized the injured joint, confident that he could save the finger. For the rest of my meds, he told me I would have to return in an hour, as his supplier was caught in Bangkok traffic.

While walking down Soi Cowboy, wondering how I would kill the hour, a "pub" with a Guinness sign caught my eye. I enjoyed Guinness, which was hard to find in Thailand. Therefore I entered this establishment -- a big mistake.

The pub was empty. At the far end was an actual film-screen. "North by Northwest" with Cary Grant was playing. I must say I was relishing the movie and my Guinness. Then I felt something odd ... a petite hand on my thigh. It was definitely not my imagination, nor my hand.

I looked right and there was a sensuous, scantily clad Thai girl in a short skirt and see-through top. "Oh dear," I muttered.

"You're a dear," she replied.

I explained, in a manner befitting Cary Grant, that I was waiting for my prescriptions -- prescriptions for myself and my wife. She explained how sexy my beard was and how I reminded her of Kenny Rogers. I looked into the big mirror opposite us. I saw a sixty year old man sitting next to a twenty year old girl. It was very unlikely that she had a gray beard fetish or that she was turned on by geriatric sex.

This was like a scene in the movies where the sexy young girl coming on to the old geezer turns out to be a female "hitman". If she was a hired assassin, I wondered where she kept her gun. Then I thought of something even more scary: maybe she was a katoey (กะเทย lady boy).

She grabbed my hand, placed it on her thigh and started to run it up her leg. A couple of minutes later I was able to rule out two concerns: (a) she was definitely not carrying a gun, and (b) she was no lady boy. Beads of sweat glistened on my brow. I now knew what I must do — run away.



In a hasty but dignified fashion, I exited the bar. I stepped out onto the soi, then collided with two men, knocking one to the ground. As I walked away from the bar, it occurred to me that the men seemed very familiar. Suspicion and fear welled up inside me. I looked over my shoulder and what I saw filled me with terror ... the two men were gone, but swiftly moving toward me was the Thai girl. I now moved with more haste and less dignity.

Moments later I entered the PM Pharmacy with great haste and no dignity. The other customers were starring — my lady friend did not pursue me into the drugstore.

I waited half an hour before purchasing my drugs, as I wanted to make sure she was gone. I got back to National Stadium without incident. Then as I stepped out of the Skytrain, I looked down and saw four shoes. Looking up I saw two men standing, waiting for me. I must have telegraphed my horror. Shaking my hand, thumb pressed against my knuckle, the gentlemen explained in a pleasant fashion that they were not nefarious dudes. "However," they warned, "it is good to be cautious." They invited me out for lunch and before long we were all at the Sizzler on the top floor of the MBK. Strange as it may seem, they merely wanted to discuss my travel blog. Over a couple of bottles of wine we talked at length. . .

"I have no difficulty with your suggestions," was my reply.* "Besides, I would like to see Travelblog up and running again. Furthermore I most certainly I don't want another visit from your friend with the knife."

"He is
Bus to PetchabunBus to PetchabunBus to Petchabun

Our "luxurious" bus stopped for people to have lunch and use the facilities. Here is a satisfied Miranda re-entering the bus.
not one of us!" they replied. "We are the good guys. He will never bother you again."

"How can you be sure?" I asked.

"Don't worry. He is gone. Bangkok has him now."


The York Family




As the referendum campaign began in earnest, Miranda and I decided to travel upcountry during the University Break. One of the nicest things about teaching at Thammasat is the amount of holiday one gets. Miranda was also entitled to generous vacation time. Our friend, Mike, and his wife, Jai, invited us to visit them in Phetchabun.

We stayed at the Kosit Hill resort, as Mike and Jai were renovating their house. This resort had many acres of property, a luxurious swimming pool, and well-kept grounds, but most impressive was the decor. Art work from all over Thailand was used in decorating the resort in a whimsical but tasteful fashion. Miranda was taken by the collections on display: coins, bottles, cameras, Royal family memorabilia, lanterns, dolls, toys, etc., etc. Clean and well-maintained and all for the total price of $24 a night.


The Wiper




Kuhn Mike (from the USA) suggested that we take his
Kosit Hill Dining Hall, PetchabunKosit Hill Dining Hall, PetchabunKosit Hill Dining Hall, Petchabun

Miranda, Mike and Jai after dinner.
new vehicle for a run and explore Thailand's first capital, Sukhotai, which flourished in the 13th century. The Sukhotai kingdom is viewed as the golden age of Thai civilization.

As we were driving to the old capital of Siam, a minivan cut in front of us and nearly caused an accident. Mike was upset. He honked his horn three times, then fired a glob of windshield wiper fluid onto the front screen which was flushed away by the broad stroke of his wiper. It appeared to be a powerful Thai insult, sending the message that the offending driver was worth no more than a bug on a windscreen that need to be washed away.

The passengers in the offending van clearly looked perplexed and insulted at the gesture. A little later, the episode repeated itself, but this time when Mike gave "the wiper," the driver of the vehicle became so incensed that he tried to run us off the road. It was only Mike's evasive maneuvers that saved us from disaster.

I asked Mike the significance of the rude gesture of giving someone "the wiper,"as I was not familiar with it. He explained that in the United
The WiperThe WiperThe Wiper

Mike gave "the wiper". The driver of the vehicle became so incensed that he tried to run us off the road. It was only Mike's evasive manoeuvres that saved us from disaster. Here we are hiding.
States when he got angry with another driver he would honk his horn and flash his lights. Unfortunately, in Thailand the wiper lever was in the same location as the American head-light lever. The result was that every time he felt enraged he unintentionally gave someone the wet wiper, causing great confusion among the offending drivers. Knowing Thai people the way I do, Mike may have indeed started a new trend.


Sukhotai




Sukhotai's dynasty lasted two hundred years, and it was during this time that Thai script came into being. As we walked around the ancient ruins, I reflected upon those who had made their contribution to this country. Miranda was having a good time, the ever-interested tourist, joking and taking photos with our new digital camera.

On the way home we stopped off at one of Jai and Mike's favorite restaurants. We had some amazingly fresh shrimp and fish and discovered that they were farmed on the premises. Jai had ordered for us — it was the best fish I had ever eaten.


Back to School




Our holiday was soon over but we were looking forward to the start of
Fresh fishFresh fishFresh fish

Miranda and Champ standing in front of the fish farm. When one places an order, the staff go to the fish farm and pluck dinner from the water and place it in the cooker.
classes. I was teaching a practical business course. It started with how to: compose a resume, prepare for a job interview, etc., and covered all the difficult situations likely to arise in the English-speaking business world. My favorite topic was "When things go wrong". I also enjoyed the section on "How to sell a product or idea". I threw in the Basic English vocabulary, the 850 most useful words which allow one to say anything in a clear, understandable way. This gave the students the confidence they needed — great fun.





* Entry Eight: we did have to rewrite this and other entries to do a better of concealing the real identity of NF etc. A reasonable request under he circumstances.


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 30


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom

Kosit Hill Resort, PetchabunKosit Hill Resort, Petchabun
Kosit Hill Resort, Petchabun

Miranda getting wet in one of her yellow "King's" shirts.
Wilderness areaWilderness area
Wilderness area

Miranda and the park staff suggesting some wilderness trails that are challenging, yet safe. We can honestly say that the Thai jungle is the most beautiful and exhilarating place in the world.
Mike and MirandaMike and Miranda
Mike and Miranda

Traveling with Mike is fun: he has such a great sense of humor and he speaks Thai like a native.
Bus to BangkokBus to Bangkok
Bus to Bangkok

Miranda and I were lucky to get the two very last seats on the bus back to Bangkok. However, our seat was over the engine and was extremely hot (Ajarn Bryan suk suk). This is a photo of me standing under the air conditioning.
Back in BangkokBack in Bangkok
Back in Bangkok

Miranda at the fountain near the entrance to Siam Paragon Shopping Centre. We both loved Phetchabun, but it was great to have the amenities of home.


Comments only available on published blogs

29th November 2007

photo my moth
i like first one.it's awesome!!!
29th November 2007

Picture EL202
I like picture 1 , everyone good looking.
29th November 2007

I like the first one
Good day Professor Bryan I think I like the first one, because it's rerely to have me in the pictures. Maybe I like to take instead of to be taken.
1st December 2007

About EL 202 's Photo
GOOD DAY (^_^) Prof. Bryan I like the first picture 'cos everyone look so good.
7th December 2007

about photo
It's Pich from EL 202. I like the first one better because everyone seemed happy.
7th December 2007

about photo
It's Pich from EL 202. I like the first one better because everyone looked so happy.
7th December 2007

About picture
Good day!!!! prof.Bryan, I come again to confirm that I like picture 1 because it has Moth in the picture and everyone look cute include me.555+
8th December 2007

Photo Vote
Good Day Professor Bryan.Actually, I like both of them but if I have to choose only one picture, I like the first picture because there are everybody in there and it can be see everyone more clearly than another one.Moreover, The first one is not too shine.
8th December 2007

EL202 picture
(",)Good day Prof.! I'm Nay. I think like the first one, because everyone look so happy more than picture2.
9th December 2007

It's about EL202
I like the first one because there's everyone in the picture.
9th December 2007

the best photo
good dayyYY prof. Bryan. I'M Cho i'm in course el202 section 4001. and i like pix number 1 'cos the position of everyone in pix is so good and everyone look cheerful.
10th December 2007

I like the second picture because everyone looks great.
10th December 2007

EL202
I like the second picture because everyone looks great.
10th December 2007

EL202
I like the second picture because everyone looks great.
10th December 2007

Photo Vote
Good Day Professor Bryan.Actually, I like both of them but if I have to choose only one picture, I like the first picture because there are everybody in there and it can be see everyone more clearly than another one.Moreover, The first one is not too shine.
11th December 2007

Kukkik 4807610292 : PHOTO VOTE
Good day Professor Bryan. I prefer EL202 to El 202 cause everyone are in the picture.
11th December 2007

drop by to say Good day
Good day Prof. Bryan..as the matter of fact, I like both pix. They look just perfect to me
11th December 2007

drop by to say Good day
Good day Prof. Bryan..as the matter of fact, I like both pix. They look just perfect to me
13th December 2007

EL202 Photo Vote
Good Day Prof. Bryan! I prefer the first picture* since I look better than the second one hahaha+ (everyon looks great too). Moreover, there is Moth in the picture.
2nd August 2011

Moth is a great photographer.
I will keep both.
10th August 2011

ENTRY 56 - Sex, naked ladies and blue diamonds on Soi Cowboy
So very true.
10th August 2011

ENTRY 56 - Sex, naked ladies and blue diamonds on Soi Cowboy
So very true!

Tot: 0.565s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.2666s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb