Day 8 - inside Khao Sam Roi Yot


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Khao Sam Roi Yot NP
December 15th 2013
Published: December 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

MORE PICS AT THE BOTTOM



Somehow riding the bike was hard today, harder than the last days. I entered the park and I had read about some great caves, outstanding temples, boat rides into the mangroves and and and.

But to be honest, this bike trip turns out to be a bit different than expected. I thought going by bicycle would give me some deep insight into Thai living and let me discover new things. But the truth is that I am always in a kind of hurry that I have to work around 2 pm local time, so I try to have a room until that time. I do make breaks often but I never really have the time to see much. Sure, I enjoy the landscape and sometimes I see little details, I have not seen before. But my conclusion is: if you are new to this country, a car/bus trip will get you to more places and different sceneries much faster and you will have more time to spend there and if you know Thailand quite well, there is not much new you will experience. There are still the other things: sport, ecological transport, fresh air, going where no man has gone before (ah sorry, that was StarTrek) – but it is not half as exciting as I thought it might be. I still enjoy it and no! I am not complaining.

So what I actually wanted to say was that I did none of that tourist stuff. I continued to the park center (actually at the south exit/entrance of the gate) to rent a tent, just to find out that I had to go back to the Sam Phraya beach, because the tents were rented out there directly. Well, tortured my ass 10 km for nothing… But here I am now, at a beautiful beach, almost alone.

The tent costs around 180 Baht, not sure yet, because the right person was not here yet and so I still did not pay for it. The tent was already set up and they carried it to the place where I wanted it to stand and so I was inside my tent only 10 minutes later. I started to hunt the mosquitoes and sand flies (which had given me a painful stinging welcome) out of my tent but that did not work well. So I just kept hunting them until most of them were caught inside the many spider webs in my tent. But wow – the tent, the sound of the waves, the warm wind, birds singing – lovely. I think my next vacation will be with a tent.

However my internet connection is dead slow. It shows 4G but runs with zero. Hmm. So I don’t know when I can actually upload this.ar

Now it works. 6 MBit in the middle of nothing. Great. I wish German Telecom companies could do that.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0926s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb