Day 7 - to Khao Sam Roi Yot National Park


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Khao Sam Roi Yot NP
December 14th 2013
Published: December 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

MORE PICS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Saturday! No work. So I got up at 10 a.m., slowly packed my things, gave the terrific pool a long last look and finally mounted my bike. Today I continued to Khao Sam Roi Yot National Park. This seems to be the end of completely flat roads, where bridges were the highest “hills” to climb. Infact Khao Sam Roi Yot means park of the 300 hilltops and I was heading right towards it.

At the beginning I passed many living areas for people who want to live outside HuaHin. You can get real nice houses here for about 50.000 to 100.000 EUR.

The good thing when you start late is, that lunch is much closer!

The road became much smaller and in the end I was passing through small villages and even used my navigation. Just held the Lumia in my hand and followed the voice instructions. I ended up right at the north entrance of the park and turned towards the sea to find accommodation. The area was – again – really pricy. I checked with some guesthouses, none of them under 1300 Baht and at some “resort” I asked for the room and the receptionist immediately led me to a 3000 Baht/night suite. Haha. Man, I am dirty, sweaty and my shirt has seen its best times a while ago and she offers me the suite? I told her that I was looking for something up to 500 Baht and after shaking her head “mei mi” (does not exist) she showed me another room which was probably a maid room and offered it to me for 500 Baht. I took it…

After a bath in the sea and a shower in the “bathroom” I had my first Thai massage since I had arrived. 300 Baht was quite expensive for an hour but I really enjoyed it. Still much cheaper than in the Chinese SPA. After that I went to the “monkey bar” where live music was announced and had the most strange Thai food ever: plain rice, plain squid (cooked), served with a British peppersteak salsa, that tasted really disgusting (must have been British for the taste of it, sorry Brits J)

I enjoyed the rest of my free night downloading (but not seeing yet) episode 1 of season 8 of “Dexter” and doing some phone calls. Calls to Germany are actually cheap – from 1 Baht/minute to 6 Baht to a German mobile phone (about 14 Cent).


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



22nd December 2013

Kaeng Krachan next?
Kaeng Krachan seems to be an excellent choice to continue from there, one hours distance from Hua Hin and it is the biggest national park and probably most un-touched one; http://www.thainationalparks.com/kaeng-krachan-national-park I have personally seen leopard, elephant, wild dogs there.

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0693s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb