Kan-Kan-Kanchanaburi...!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Kanchanaburi
March 5th 2006
Published: March 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Kanchanaburi MarketKanchanaburi MarketKanchanaburi Market

I love this photo! the little boy wanted to pose for the photo but wasn"t sure if he was being too cheeky so kept looking to his mum!
Sunday 5th March to Thursday 9th March 2006

Time to move outta Bangkok and further afield in Thailand. This time on my own - no Jeanette to help ease the burden of the strange land and travel... Starting of course by not catching the tourist bus but doing it the 'proper hardcore' (!!) traveller thang and catching the local bus! Sooo I decided to do just that. The thing is, I was about to get on the second class bus and 'go-local' when all the occupants and the driver shooed me away to the more sparkly bus which was first class. So much for going local!! To my surprise, however, I was the only non-local on the bus and had to squeeze between two ladies on the back seat... not 'hardcore' but getting there...!

I arrived into the bus station and decided I didn't want to be conned, by the obviousness of me being a traveller and the fact that I was the only backpacker around, I stood out like a sore thumb. So I decided to walk down the street a little to get a tuk tuk that wouldn't rip me off (as much!). As it goes I
Bridge over the River KwaiBridge over the River KwaiBridge over the River Kwai

Artistic shot just for the NWR peeps to enjoy!! he!he!
was walking down a dead end the wrong way to where I needed to go... (Did I ever mention I studied Geography!!! - perhaps I shouldn't anymore!) Sooo had to walk back past everyone again, by this time a little hot with the steamy heat and my backpack(s!) on. Needless to say I did pay over the odds and didn't even bother bartering!!

After that it was all plain sailing...

After settling into the Apple Guest House I flagged down a girl riding a bike down in the middle of the street as after walking for 5 minutes I realised cycling would be a better option in the heat. Random thing to do but that's what you gotta do sometimes! (plus I had no idea where to get a bike from!!) Zazu was her name and I thought I was in some weird joke or getting heat stroke but no I'd heard correctly. Then ensued a 'little bike ride' out to some caves or something or other... I decided yeah I'll come too! - So far I had the Thailand-Burma Railway Museum (was brilliant and one of the best Museums I've been to - don't think I've ever read every display in a museum before) and the bridge over the River Kwai on my itinerary. 'Little' turned into 10km ONE WAY!! We joined up with some German backpackers who were also stupid enough to be cycling in the heat (and yes they were both studying Geography too!!!!) We just kept cycling - the road was straight, flat and had beautiful scenery either side... then someone looked at the time and we had to motor it back before dark - literally crossing back into the town at dusk! Good dose of exercise tho!

A trip to Nam Tok Erawan (Erawan Falls), yes this time a successful local bus trip! (wellll to a tourist spot!!), the Museum, the Kanchanaburi Allied War Cemetery, the Chinese Cemetery (we thought this was a crazy golf place but no it was the most weirdest and colourful cemetery I've ever been to!) and the Bridge were fab... Two days turned into five and it could have been longer. Such a chilled and relaxing place...

But mustn't forget the seemingly most shocking activity I did in Kanchanaburi - a cooking course! Yes I did do one and yes I did cook and we all
KanchanaburiKanchanaburiKanchanaburi

Why do I think cycling around in the heat is a good idea?!?! he!he!
ate it! It was so much fun! (It may have started off a bit more fun had I not got to bed 4hrs previously after a night at the Budda Bar!) So it took a few more seconds than usual to process that our teacher was Mickey - a ladyboy who was very much man except for the long hair, painted nails, very short skirt and very high heels. We learned to cook Green curry, Red Curry, Masaman curry, Tom Yum Kai and lots more - it was really enjoyable! We even had a trip to the local market to begin which was an eye opener... and very colourful!

Kanchanaburi - definitely one of my favourite spots in Thailand...




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Erwan WaterfallsErwan Waterfalls
Erwan Waterfalls

Selection of roadside fried delights for lunch!
Cooking Course!Cooking Course!
Cooking Course!

Yes I did a Thai Cooking Course!!
Jolly Frog BackpackersJolly Frog Backpackers
Jolly Frog Backpackers

Nice place to relax...!


Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb