Rafthouse living


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Kanchanaburi
May 1st 2006
Published: May 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I have spent rather longer in Kanchanaburi than was originally planned. Two days was the idea - see the sights and then head north. I've been here for eight days now, but will definitely be leaving tomorrow.

Kanchanaburi is a small town, located north-west of Bangkok, which sees more tourists than most because of it's location at the start of the last remaining stretch of the Thai-Burma railway, built during the second world war by the Japanese, at the cost of countless lives of Asian and Allied POWs. For its history the area is interesting, but it's location on the river Kwai Noi (the town is also the home of the 'Bridge over the River Kwai') is what makes it an appealing place to spend some time.

I have been staying in a riverside guest house (called C+C Guest House - if you ever find yourself in the area and looking for accommodation for less the £1.50 per night). My room floats. Which is nice. It does mean that whenever I am on dry land I feel a little out at sea. I watch the sun go down over the river every evening, whilst enjoying the very cheap and very tasty food and some of the best company I have found thus far in Thailand.

In my time here I have managed to do a few things, though not as much as you would think. I have ridden on the railway, which was pleasant enough. The scenery is impressive, though little impression of the hardship the workers had to endure can be gleaned from the trip itself. Better for understanding the dark times those people had is the Thai-Burma Railway Museum (next to the main cemetery), which is both interesting and very moving. I was lucky enough to be here for ANZAC (Australia and New Zealand Army Corps) Day. There was a small ceremony in the cemetery, attended by a couple of hundred people, including five of the remaining POWs.

I have also taken the time to visit a couple of temples in the area. The Chinese temple was very beautiful. Slightly further afield, we discover a temple set in a windy maze of caves. Much joy was to be had when we discovered the monkey school. Despite the substandard conditions the monkeys are kept in (some in cages barely large enough to turn around in), we found out that you could go along and hang out with the monkeys for free, disregarding the show, which was very much in poor taste. Much time has been spent playing with monkeys, and it is not time wasted. I have been scratched and bitten (one minute your their friend, next minute they hate you), but it was worth it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



2nd May 2006

Dude! You look like such a mankey traveller Guy! I see why they make you sleep in the middle of a river. You'll be pleased to know I also celebrated Anzac day, although online.

Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1071s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb