Good bus luck and Tigers


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Kanchanaburi
February 6th 2007
Published: February 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tue 6th Feb
So borded bus at 5pm yesterday after a man approached me from a travel agent and gave me adifferent ticket. I had no idea what was happening as Nancy had booked the ticket for me. But it worked out and I go a double seat all the way to Bangkok. I got given food vouchers but when we stopped couldn't work out how to use them. Wasn't a problem as I had brought supplies.
Luckily Nancy had told me it was aircon so I was ready with my jogging bottoms and fleece jumper and socks. All of wich were needed along with my inflatable pillow I managed to get a decent amount of sleep.
At 5am I arrived at Bangkok looking for a bus to Kanchanaburi. The first person I asked ushered me over to a departing bus that he flaged down and after a quick glance at the side to check were it was heading got on. Releved that I didn't have to sit in Bangkok for however many hours I fell back asleep to be woken at 7.30 at me desired destination.

I had to wait till 9 before I could check into my room at the Jolly Frog and the staff were not at all jolly but I wouldn't be if I had to work the early shift! The hostel has a tourist info board and I booked to go and see the tigers this afternoon.
(don't read this bit mum) The morning I spent on a mo-ped going to the Thailand-Burma Railway center, the war cemetary, JEATH war museum and The bridge over the river Wqai. The railway center was very moving and informative a real eye opener.

This afternoon I went to Tiger Temple where the monks take in rescuded tigers. It is very touristy and one of those places that your not sure your helping the animals by going. But they are building a new big enclosure for the tigers and hoping to release future cubs into the wild. Its also run by the monks so I think its good.

Tomorrow brings elephant riding and the caos of Bankok.
x T



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb