Tigers smigers


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Kanchanaburi
November 11th 2006
Published: December 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The bravest man in the world.....The bravest man in the world.....The bravest man in the world.....

This was taken just after the bloke playfully batted them with a stick
One thing to do in Kanchaburi is visit the tiger temple, where you can hang out with tigers and get a picture taken. Despite the fact that they seemed very relaxed and there were lots of people doing the same, I was terrified. However perfectly safe it is, a tiger is a tiger and I was no more aware of this than when sat next to one as the photo man slapped my nervous hand onto the muscley back of the beast. There are about 7 tigers lying around and you are taken by the hand to each one to have some pictures taken with it. I'll be honest, I was ready to leave after the first picture but its not really a done thing and my steely courage got me through. They're not so tough. Although I was less than happy when, as I was about to sit by 2 of the tigers, one of the staff gave them a few hits with a stick for reasons only known to himself. It was probably a joke he plays on all westerners.

We left Ayuthaya to board the night train headed for Chang Mai. The night train is fantastic. They have a 'disco carriage' which consists of christmas lights, beer and whiskey, loud music, and lots of westerners. Whilst we all get down to some serious wobbly train grooves with a drunk waiter on a mission for tips, the porters transform the 30 seats to beds on each carriage.

Unfortunately for those already sleeping, the combination of drinking and the shaky nature of trains meant that I accidently fell onto 2 of the beds trying to find my own. Whatever was said, it wasnt english and didnt sound forgiving. I only hope it wasnt one of the many nuns on our carriage, of who a member of our group is convinced speak french, and he strangely tries to speak to each passing one with broken beginner phrases. He's english and they're Thai. This train has only 2 weaknesses; no cover from the lights for those on top bunk (not me luckily) and the worst breakfast I have ever tasted. Cold fried eggs with bread thats had the most brief of introductions to the toaster, but with no alternative I wolfed it down.

In Chang Mai we visit the 300 step temple which is startling with lots of golden Buddha tributes. Here you can be blessed with luck by a monk who splahes you with water and ties a string around your hand. Only the men get this from a monk, one of their rules decreeing that they have no contact with women, but there is a separate line where women can be blessed also. You have to be very respectful and I did feel like an idiot bowing away and not really knowing what to do.

Chang Mai is Thailand's second largest city and I found one glaring difference between the two. It would seem that haggling doesnt quite hold the same water as in Bangkok where I could usually drive a hard bargain. In fact, the markets of Chang Mai are completely oblivious to my ace card to really get the prices down, which was so effective in Bangkok and India. This consists of feigning lost interest in the product once they wont drop the price further and beginning to walk away. They would then drop the price to something more agreeable and the purchase is made. In Chang Mai they would just let me walk away. I'd then have to walk back with my tail between my legs if I really wanted the product. They certainly showed me.





Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



8th December 2006

Best journal yet
This is your best performance yet. You've got a bit of a following here now (all blokes I'm afraid). Where are you off to next ?
11th December 2006

off to the islands after that entry, then maybe cambodia, see how it goes
11th December 2006

facial hair
......have you grown a goatee?
12th December 2006

I had decided that I couldnt be a proper backpacker without having some kind of stupid looking facial hair and I realised that dream. I just need to work on my smell and I be a bonafide traveller

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb