the tiger temple??????????


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Kanchanaburi » Thong Pha Phum
December 10th 2010
Published: December 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The tiger temple in Thailand- ran by Buddhist monks to help save tigers from being poached and killed.....to look after and care for a species that is slowly becoming extinct. you can have your photo taken with the most powerful animal ever to walk the earth- sit next to a tiger - maybe with it's head on your lap- stroke them they're fine.......I'm totally 50/50 on this- surely the tigers are drugged, they're natural instinct is to kill not to pose for photos - something not quite right yet when else can I EVER get this close to tigers?! so, after much reading and debating we go.......and I'm so glad I did because I can make my own mind up that this is most definitely NOT right!!! don't get me wrong it was an amazing experience actually touching and stroking a real life tiger.....but I didn't enjoy the experience- it actually made me really sad and I could have cried looking at them chained up as tourists were led from one to another to another it's such a money making tourist trap that it's hard to enjoy anything about it.......there's no information given to you about why they here what the temple does, where the tigers came from- only people saying group photos cost 1000baht- you can feed and play with cubs for 1000baht stand in a cage while the tigers run free around you 1000baht!!!! money money money- I love tigers that's why I'm here- tell me about the tigers!!!! it all just felt wrong - yet I was a tourist- giving them money- posing for my photo!!!! it's so 50/50 what you feel to it!!!
I don't think they are in any way physically mistreated directly but it just doesn't feel right to see them looking so doped up and chained, there was however a compound called tiger island where they were running free but even then they didn't seem as active as I imagined they would be. 
I can't believe I actually touched real life huge tigers but the experience has left me feeling saddened, for the tigers and for the fact I paid towards this!! however as you should never regret anything i can only say I'm glad I went to make my own mind up on the matter- and that I have done!!!! 


Advertisement



10th December 2010

baht
i know that was a really serious post but i just think a currency called baht is hilarious for some reason. totally buzzing to se regular updates on here now it makes me smile when i'm sat here at my desk! you should have went all military on the tiger temple and rode on their backs naked into the jungle. or alternatively came back with a new fur for yourself! oui? send pedro my love and keep having a blast! miss and love you both xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
12th December 2010

haha- you know what the thought never even crossed my mind of a new fur.....hmmmmm!!!! eeeh I couldn't do it to tigers!! Glad you're enjoying the updates- I need to figure out how the hell to add photos cos I'm using my iPhone and it won't allow me to upload...I know you need to see some photos of my Ginger face soon cos you miss me!!! what's beef with my fave Afro haired gay? xxxxx

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb