Just relaxing at Hua Hin


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Hua Hin
May 13th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Respite from the rain!Respite from the rain!Respite from the rain!

Marte and Asle relax at "Grandma's Papaya Salad Restaurant". It was pouring down outside so we spent 5 hours here!
Hello, well to bring you up-to-date, I'm still in southern Thailand just relaxing, as I've met many great people here, am learning to speak Thai more each day and was rather travel-weary after being on the road for months on end. Hence, I've returned to Hua Hin for a short time, and even though there is not much to do here, it has a somewhat intangible charm that has kept me here longer than initally expected. I have actually booked a ticket to Malaysia next week (can you believe it!!) where I'll spend several weeks followed by a short spell in Indonesia. However, I do plan to make a new Thai visa and return for 3 weeks as I'd like to meet up with my good French friend Niko in July (he returns to Thailand at the end of June) and see friends once more in Hua Hin. As a result I must change my flights again but it's relatively cheap (only 25 pounds or $50).
I also met a Norwegians couple - Marte and Asle - and enjoyed spending a few days hanging out with them while the rain kept us inside. They've now gone to Phuket and Koh
The scene outsideThe scene outsideThe scene outside

Pretty wet and it became much worse. Nice day to swim...
Tao but are spending 6 months in Thailand so should be back in a week or so. I've included some photos taken here in Hua Hin - during the last week or so there has been torrential rain and rivers in the streets, as the rainy season ('nah fon') seems to have arrived earlier than expected this year. I am staying at Smile bar and Guest House, located on Poonsuk road, which is pretty good value at 450 baht per night (about 7 pounds); the staff here are really great - Chom Poo runs the bar most days and wants me to send her pictures of my English friends as she needs a new boyfriend!!!
I've included a few pics of everyone getting a little drunk ("mow mahk mahk") on Friday night. Also I've been learning Thai every day, and have purchased another book (Conversational Thai in 7 days) complete with an audio CD which I've transferred onto my ipod, which has really helped! I was given a great compliment recently: "Kun Poot Pasa Tai Geng!" or "you speak Tai very well".
Incidentally, the other day I was riding a motorobike along Poonsuk road and was pulled up by the
Smile Bar - Penny the rabbitSmile Bar - Penny the rabbitSmile Bar - Penny the rabbit

"Mine's a pint of Singha"
traffic police. Apparently I was going down a one-way street and has to pay a 500 baht fine. Later, I returned to the scene and noted that there is absolutely nothing to indicate such - so how is a foreigner like me supposed to know?! In fact the road is only one-way for a small section at one end. I now know where all the traffic police are located and know the best routes to avoid them, though actually just looking the other way seems to work just as well!!! :-)
I hope everyone is enjoying the weather back home - by all accounts it sounds like it's more pleasant than here at the moment!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Smile Bar - Chom PooSmile Bar - Chom Poo
Smile Bar - Chom Poo

Chom Poo hard at work as usual
Smile Bar - Joy and Chom PooSmile Bar - Joy and Chom Poo
Smile Bar - Joy and Chom Poo

By now rather drunk...
Smile Bar - Chom Poo shows her belly buttonSmile Bar - Chom Poo shows her belly button
Smile Bar - Chom Poo shows her belly button

It's amazing what Tequila can do! She'll kill me when she sees this!


29th May 2007

H A P P Y B I R T H D A Y ! ! !
Have yourself a great birthday Roly (hic! :-)
30th May 2007

how many girlfriends
Hey Roly how about some pics of land marks not just the ladies or at least some hot guys for your female friends

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb