My little walk on Koh Samui


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Southern Thailand
November 29th 2009
Published: November 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Chalee villas. . .its a quiet little resort tucked away in the far west of Bo Phut bay in the north.The noise levels are low, at most, waves rubbing the sand and the odd fishing boat heading out on his next eager to see catch. Theres a few people staying here in throughout the 10 bungalows, but must only be for a few days at a time because Iv never seen a face twice.Well apart from the annoying american next door who constantly thinks its "AWSOMMMME" to ask me every day what my planns are for Thailand or my travels in general.I must of told him about 6 times that I havent planned anything or booked anything in advance, but his head still doesnt seem to register.He must think I lay awake at night plotting a new route after hes mentioned it hoping for me to come out with something new the next day.
Maybe he was wanting to travel with me. . . . . . . . . but his voice was far to annoying!
Hes worn the same shorts for the past 6 days and even set off walkin down the long beach in white socks and his Michael Jordans.. . . . . . . .. . . . . .Like you do!
I laughed out loud when he walked along to the narrow sand where the shallow waves hit a wall with no footpath. You tit!
Hes gone now though. . . . I heard the receptionist drag him out of bed this morning after he had slep in past his check out time haha gutted!

24th Nov
Woke up today with the sound of an outboard motor on the rev limiter.
I was a little frowned for a few minutes, but only untill there was a big pop and I could hear the waves again.:-) I looked outside to see a few fishermen swarming round as they eagerly tried to get it moving. Its pretty much like a lawnmower engine strapped to a long prop shaft with a shallow propeller on the end.They move pretty quick for what they are, longtail boats they are called and are used quite alot for different things in Thailand.Probably the same as what they have on the river taxis in Bangkok. . . .but them boys sport V8 lumps just to make sure they really shit you up.I must get a taxi ride when I head back there in the future :-).
With fishermen lingering around the front of the resort for fellow boat drivers to return with the days catch I threw a few things in the "Bangkok bag" and headed out for a wander.
I headed down the beach into the town of Bo Phut (without socks or trainers) for a bit of water and money exchange. Still sporting £170 sterlin in the wallet thinking I was doin pretty well still having that 2 weeks in and house paid for till 30th,I headed into a money exchange. Shorts and a vest. . .screaming out tourist. . .I found myself in a spotless aircond reception area as the kiosk to the street was closed.
One thing I have noticed since Iv been here that the Thai's really do like cleaning,especially where the tourists might go.The resort next door to mine has 4 guys constantly sweeping the beach with broomsticks made from . . well like a tree branch.Sweeping sand! I really cant imagine that would be on the high end of anyones "Iv achived" list, but I guess its a wage to be ernt.
The next few waves bring in more twigs and stuff on where they have just swept. . . . ?????
Anyhow. . . .
A guy approaches me in a suit,"hayloo"
"Id like to exchane so English pounds pleases. . .you're kiosk is closed"
"ahh ok ok no prob. . . sit sit"
I sat down. . .but he dissapeard into a room.
I looked around and compared it to my bank in the uk. For a start off there wasnt a que and there was actually more than one girl behind the glass counters. Looked bloody efficent. Abbey are shit!
This guy returns. As Im counting my money out whats going through my mind is as hes watching me is. . . is he gona give me a crap rate and try pocket some of it? Travelling alone Iv learnt one thing so far. . .ya cant trust anyone. . .especially when it comes to money! So I handed the money to him £100.He dissapeard into the same room again. Im thinking surely in a nice bank like this it would be all above board and Il get a decent rate of exchange. Before I stepped in I was sure to look at the rates board. . . 54bht to the £
. . .my mind sets off. . . . .hes not coming back . . . . .its been 5 mintues now. . . . . . .where the hells he gone?. . . .the busy girls talking in Turbo Thai on the phones smile at me. . . . .there in on it too I bet I begin to think. . . . . .he returns and hands me the notes and a recipt. I counted it infront of him. . . .5400bht. Ace. . . .!
I suppose that would teach me for overthinkin. But its best to be cautious I guess. . .:-) I headed off walking to "The Big Buddah".
Iv read in my little guide book that alot of Thai people dont really walk anywere. Bangkok streets when I was there didnt seem to busy with local pedestrians and in the sun of Koh Samui I was to understand why there wasnt hardly any at all. I planned to walk there and when I got to hot either get a cab or get a Songthiaw on the way back.(Songthiaw is a pickup with benches in the back and a sheep cage to hold you in,see Koh Samui album)Walking away taking in the scenery,I passed many derolict hotels and accomodation,they looked condemed if you ask me but thats how they build them lol.
"Beep beep beep. . .hello hello you you . . . .taxi?"
I look round to see a guy slowing down on a scooter/very small moped with a tabard on that says taxi.
He stops with a smile and shows me his official taxi sighn. . . "Im ok thanks Im gona walk"
He looked at me like I was on fire. .. . "WALK" . . . ." yea I gona walk to the Big Buddah. . .and then probably get a taxi on the way back"
"Ok ok Il go to the Big Buddah and wait for you and then I can take you back when you done"
"No dont worry Il make my way. . .thanks though"
They really will do anything for a fare. . .
"Do you like boxing"
Ehy whats that got to do with anything??
"Yea . . I suppose I like boxing"
"I take you to Chewang to watch Muay Thai. . big event big event"
As tampted as I was. . . .I really am not gona be getting on the back of a moped without a helmet to go 15 mins ride.
"Im fine thanks,maybe some other time. . ." Saying it like Im gona see him again hahaha
He drives on. . . .
Still walkin away. . . . looking at the various price deals that are letterd for property in the area and iron gates leading to big villas. (One looked like a right drug dealers getaway compleat with long drive into a rainforrest and armed guards patrolling. . . . ... . . . . . curiously lookin at me)
Beep beep the taxis go to try get me attention. There must of been 20 attempts for fares but I was "Ok thanks" I think I need a sighn on my back.
I started thinking about Muay Thai boxing after I saw a poster.It was definatly on my to do list to go and see while on my travels but it would be best to see someone English competing from home,at least Il be able to cheer him on then.Maybe when I head to a big city next,although all in good time :-).
Finally I reached Big Buddah town.
As soon as I hit the town there were scooters that were addapted into kitchenets,compleat with grill and glass displays showing different types of skewerd bird/chicken.Havent a clue what it was to be honest but it didnt really look apealing,espeicailly when its getting driven behind big trucks what look like are running on the wrong fuel.
Lamposts with golden birds.They looked ace! Iv never seen anything like it . . . . . . the gold shining in the sun confimed that I must be getting near to what I set out to see.
Taxis and scooters still piping.
"Massaa massa" Windows and doors open as I walk past massarge parlours with people offering
"Mai ao korp" (No thanks) they leave me alone.

Looking up a big hillside I saw a white building the reminded me of thunderbirds very own tracies island mansion (theres a pic in the album) Looked like the big green thunderbird 2 was gona come right over the top of it an minute.hehe.
I finally make it to the gateway into the Big Bubbah and walk into its comunity that they have set up there.Stalls and shops were set out imaculately.Flip flops,glasses,artists painting away with big shops full of canvasses.Strictly no photography anywere near the artwork as odviously they could be coppied,but they were very good.Many of the pictures were of the Big Buddah all from different angles and seein in very different light.Taxis were coming and going with people on board that were doing whole island tours, this being one of there stops.Past the Gasoline in bottels that was on sale for scooter drivers (bright red) I walked down to a little shore section where what looked like figures that were walking out of the water with a mirmaid on a rock. Didnt know what it symbolised though,Im sure you would get the whole story if I paid for a whole island tour . . .but not for me.Definatly didnt want to hang around with annoying Americans for the day haha :-)
I headed off upto the Golden statue that stood far higher than anything for miles.
Through some warlord statue guarded gates was a courtyard with a few other shops in. . .one caught my eye straight away.Iron figures that were constructed of scrap metal.They wernt just figures though,The preditor,Terminator an alien off of the film aliens was in there real life full size models.They were a bit creepy to stand asside,thinking any minute now hes gona more his hand and grab me.(pictures are in the album)
I made my way over to the steps to walk up.Taking notice of how you do things,there was a sighn there saying you can keep you're shoes on between set times of the day because the tiles get rather hot to walk on bare foot. Usually shoes are removed as a sighn of respect to walk around Buddhist sites.Getting to the top. . .(after many pictures). .. . the view was amazing,so was the distance I had coverd not even reolising being in a world of my own how far it really was.I heard a bell dong every now and then from the area where I was.
There was 15 of them, all different sizes.At the beggining there was a donations box and peices of bamboo,on the outer loop under a terrace roof like structure with the bells spaced out for people to dong each one after making a donation to the local education.There was something simular at the reclining Buddah back in Bangkok in the form of dropping little pennys into a long line of metal bowls with a constant ringing sound of people dropping them in. . . .100 people at a time. Maybe its something to do with giving you something fun to do for youre donation? Im not sure.
As I was stood there just packing away the camera ready to get a taxi after a bit of shopping aand aftersun,I was approached by an indian family.
"Can you picture"
"Oh yea no probs. . .where would you like to be?"
They were meaning for me to be in the picture with another girl??? I was so confused.
Why would anyone want me in a picture? Or was it because I was white and a tourist? I was lost . . . and spent at least half an hour trying to figure out why that happend.Still dont know.
A quick stop off at the family mart for a few things.Walked outside to try look for some sort of transport back.Songthiaw,taxi scooter even. . . .not a dickie bird in sight!!!!!!!!!! Would you actually belive it.
I just smiled to myself. . . .
There was a taxi infront of me but I wasnt lookin at it because it was a taxi.. . . modified front bumper,bonnet scoop,massive spoiler,tinted glass,alloys huge exhaust. . ha what the hell. Just as I was about to walk away as there was nobody around,. . . "taxi taxi you wan taxi" the owner of it comes running across the street.He looked about 16.
"Yea can do . . . I need to go to Chalee Villa."
He looked very confused. . . .
I got the map out to show him exactly where I wanted to go.
"Ah ok yes I know"
"how much"?
He looked at me confused again.
" how much. . . . . .money"
He instantly said 500bht.
Iv got quite a good idea now of how much taxi fares should be on Koh Samui because to get from one side of the island to the other should be 500bht. . . I was one step ahead of him. . .
"Nooo get away Im not payin that!"
"ok how much you wanna pay"
"200"
"ok 300" he came up with,said it was standard price from Big Buddah to Bo Phut bay
"No no Il just get a Songthiaw then for 100"
"ok ok 250"
"200"

Just goes to show how much there on the fiddle when I got him down to less than half the price from what he started at and the price I wanted to pay.
Made me laugh.. . just as I was getting out the taxi and paying there was a guy on a scooter with a taxi tabard on beepin his horn . . "you want taxi"

"Are you for real mate?"

I headed to finish off the day on my quiet beach.:-)


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb