Bloody Monkey Teeth


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand
November 29th 2007
Published: December 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I've often heard travel tales about sneaky monkeys who enjoy stealing valuables from unwary travellers. I've heard of people losing their hats, cameras, and even watches to the agile little theives. The harder the object to steal, the more cunning the monkey.

But until a Thailand beach monkey nearly ripped my throat from my kneck, I never realized they had more than theft on their mind. Maybe I appeared on that beach at the wrong time when this particular monkey was having a very bad day. Maybe his three lovers had recently left him for his cousin on the other side of the cliffs. Maybe I triggered the deep resentment festering towards the humans who slaughtered his anscestors for soup when he was just a baby. Or maybe he had drunk to much Thai Red Bull and the methampetamines were causing him to act out in a wild rage for no apparent reason.

Regardless of the motives...the story goes like this...The afternoon sun reflected off my gringo skin making his eyes glow red. I didn't see this until it was almost too late. I was pre-occupied with catching the bright orange frisbee that my friend Joosje had just thrown towards me. As I reached out to grab it, I heard her yell, "WATCH OUT!!". In the corner of my eye I saw a movement of fear, claws, fur and burning eyes bounding towards me. The monkey lept off its hind legs into the air, teeth bared for impact. The frisbee saved my life. Joosje had thrown it a bit high and as I grabbed it at kneck level the monkey's teeth slammed into plastic rather than flesh.

Fortunately for me, the shock of the impact sent us both running in opposite directions. The monkey bounded into the rocks and I nearly ran into the sign that I wish I would have seen earlier, "BEWARE of MONKEYS".

P.s. If you don't believe my story...i don't blame you.

Advertisement



12th December 2007

Hahaha good story!
Thank God for my frisbee skills!;) It was great meeting you! Good luck and keep smiling :)

Tot: 0.25s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 44; dbt: 0.084s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb