Pain in the Cru


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Surat Thani
September 19th 2011
Published: September 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

As the 1st term of school comes to an end, my workload increases. Camp starts in 2 weeks, which means I have to occupy a group of 8-year-olds for 3 hours a day for 10 days. The good news is that I won't have to teach high school for a whole month. Now camp will be fun (for the kids): complete with games, arts and crafts, and animated slideshows. I just hope that what they get out of it justifies the time I'm putting into it. I've become practically obsessed with giving every new lesson some element of power point presentation. Now I'm wondering not only whether it will be an efficient teaching tool for the very young learner, but also if there is a market for ready-made power point presentation as I'm acquiring quite the collection. Added to this mayhem, new targets (i.e. for the curriculum) are due for all of my classes by the end of September and I have to sub for another cru the whole last week of the month! This too shall pass, this too shall pass.....

On another somewhat painful note, one of my fillings fell out last week, the same filling I was proud to have gotten in America less than a month before coming here. I visited no less than four dentists in the area before I found one who could fix me. But there's nothing you can do here that doesn't require some running around. It's not so bad though; I usually get to ride around in a tuk-tuk, or walk through new parts of town with fun or interesting smells, shops, food. Today, waiting for the results of my syphilis test, I walked a busy part of town near the hospital and bought some weird looking fruit on a whim. It's deep red and prickly: actually uncomfortable to hold as well as peel, but the fruit is sweet-tart, like a pineapple/kiwi/lemon. The little adventure even got me up early, so I had time to make two power point slideshows when I got home!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb