Pippin' ain't easy


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Surat Thani
December 11th 2005
Published: December 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Okay so before we were here we were in PangNga which is fun, sort of. Anyway the hostle we were in was right next door to a 7-11, thank heaven. And so I was craving some nori potato chips and just about to pay for them when the woman behind the counter told me I was good luck. Now I've been getting a lot of added attention because of my pasty white exterior so I just chalked it up to that, smiled, and moved on. But then today as we were getting off of our boat tour (more on that later) a guy who appeared to be somewhat enamored with me said the same thing. Emily immediately quips, "well that's funny in our culture carnies are considered bad luck" and later Lindsay told me that I must be good luck because all albino animals are good luck. Ahh the teasing of friendship.
So back to the boat tour. We went on a boat tour of these caves today. Well like two caves, one set of paintings on a rock face and JAMES BOND ISLAND. That's right an island named after James Bond. My daddy would be so proud. Apparently they filmed Man with the Golden Gun there. Anyhow, absolutely beautiful! Even though the german tourists in the boat with is tried to kill us. They kept jumping around desperately trying to get that last picture of the mangrove trees growing on the shores and one of them almost tipped the boat.
Before that Lindsay and I went to "Heaven and Hell caves" (all of this is in PangNga). I'm still not sure what was going on at those caves. But we showed up just after a storm so no one was there. And we were wandering around and found "heaven" made up of plaster monks and hindu gods. After more wandering we figure out that to get to the hell cave we had to climb into the mouth of this big dragon thing. Well Lindsay being braver than me and armed with a flashlight led the way. We got about a yard and half in realised we had to crouch down, couldn't move easily and saw no real end in sight and booked it the heck out of there. We found a partial way to the hell cave outside of the dragon mouth but standing on the edge of it looked like a dante nightmare and both of us being scaredy pants anyway decided that braving such a creepy thing in an abondoned tourist attraction was a little to Stephen King and turned back. We had a glorious walk back to the hostle though.
That's about it for now, not amazingly eventful I must say. Oh but Mom I saw a bird! It was about crow size and blue like a jay. It had a long narrow beak and that was a light orange-yellow with a darker spot on the bridge. There was some yellow or white on it's tail or the underbit of it's wings. I didn't see it's tummy though. And I saw it near the water in the mangroves. You and tina should have loads of fun with that hey?

Advertisement



11th December 2005

Great bird description!!!
I am just puffed up with pride that you knew exactly what to describe about the bird so we could try to identify it... I'm sure Tina will get right on it!

Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0819s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb